Home News Cameron Shields leads lights to flag to win USF2000 Freedom 75

Cameron Shields leads lights to flag to win USF2000 Freedom 75

by Jake Williams-Smith

Cameron Shields took a dominant USF2000 victory at Lucas Oil Speedway, leading all 75 laps en route to the win.

Shields took the lead at the start under pressure from pole-sitter Colin Kaminsky but successfully held off the Pabst Racing driver.

He immediately set about building a comfortable lead of over three seconds in the opening stages to Kaminsky, setting consecutive fastest laps early on.

The green run came to an end on lap 44 as Manuel Cabrera was taken out of third position while lapping Bruna Tomaselli.

The two came together after interlocking wheels in turn two, sending the Exclusive Autosport driver into the barriers.

Racing resumed with 24 laps remaining and Shields set about restoring his lead from Kaminsky and Alex Baron, with a?great restart for the Newman Wachs driver putting him comfortably clear of the rest.

The yellow flag was back out on lap 60 as Jack Miller lost the rear of his Miller Vinatieri Motorsport car and shunted into the wall at turn three.

It set up a final eight-lap sprint to the finish for the win at the only oval on the USF2000 schedule.

Shields was able to hold off the chasing pack after a poor restart compared to his previous effort.

Baron was the driver on the move however, snatching second place from Kaminsky with just two laps remaining, while?Shields was able to build a gap to those behind him.

Championship contenders Braden Eves and Hunter McElrea had to fight back through the field after a disappointing qualifying session for both.

Points leader Eves had picked his way through the field up into sixth with a quarter of the race gone, and later took fifth behind Jak Crawford, but his rival McElrea languished on the fringes of the top 10 in 11th.


Race result (75 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Cameron Shields Newman Wachs Racing 35m34.2094s
2 Alex Baron Legacy Autosport +1.4279s
3 Colin Kaminsky Pabst Racing +2.3869s
4 Jak Crawford DEForce Racing +2.8330s
5 Braden Eves Cape Motorsports +3.3583s
6 Christian Rasmussen Jay Howard Driver Development +3.4972s
7 Darren Keane Cape Motorsports +3.7495s
8 Reece Gold Cape Motorsports +4.4282s
9 Manuel Sulaiman DEForce Racing +4.9256s
10 Nolan Siegel Newman Wachs Racing +5.3690s
11 Hunter McElrea Pabst Racing +5.6520s
12 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing +6.1645s
13 Eduardo Barrichello Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +6.6841s
14 Anthony Famularo BN Racing +1 lap
15 Christian Bogle Jay Howard Driver Development +1 lap
16 Matt Round-Garrido Jay Howard Driver Development +2 laps
17 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +15 laps
18 Manuel Cabrera Exclusive Autosport +32 laps
19 Bruna Tomaselli Pabst Racing +33 laps