Home Formula 3Euroformula Cameron Das fastest in EF Open practice at windswept Spa

Cameron Das fastest in EF Open practice at windswept Spa

by Ida Wood

Photo: Elliot Wood

Fortec Motorsport’s Cameron Das went fastest in the second Euroformula Open free practice session at Spa-Francorchamps, which was hit by strong winds.

Das led the times early on, but was outside of the top five by the time the winds picked up. This meant there were no improved times for much of the session, with Teo Martin Motorsport’s Lukas Dunner leading Carlin’s Billy Monger.

With five minutes to go the wind died down a little, and the order at the front was quickly reshuffled. Jack Doohan was the first to beat Dunner for Double R Racing, but was then bettered by Das and Dunner.

Christian Hahn became the second driver to lap sub-2m13s for Carlin just before Dunner crashed out and caused the session to end two minutes early.

The Austrian was pushing on a quick lap, and took too much kerb at Les Combes. His car oversteered and span him around once, before he drove into the wall.

The early end meant he stayed in third, ahead of Double R’s Doohan and Linus Lundqvist, Motopark duo Julian Hanses and Marino Sato, Monger, and the returning RP Motorsport car of Javier Gonzalez.

As in free practice 1, Teo Martin’s Aldo Festante failed to get any representative running, while debuting team CF Racing propped up the order.


Free Practice results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Cameron Das Fortec Motorsports 2m12.768s
2 Christian Hahn Carlin +0.027s
3 Lukas Dunner Teo Martin Motorsport +0.232s
4 Jack Doohan Double R Racing +0.266s
5 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing +0.300s
6 Julian Hanses Motopark +0.417s
7 Marino Sato Motopark +0.473s
8 Billy Monger Carlin +0.769s
9 Javier Gonzalez RP Motorsport +0.799s
10 Yuki Tsunoda Motopark +0.886s
11 Liam Lawson Motopark +1.039s
12 Pierre-Louis Chovet RP Motorsport +1.367s
13 Calan Williams Fortec Motorsports +1.547s
14 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +1.620s
15 Teppei Natori Carlin +1.663s
16 Guilherme Samaia Teo Martin Motorsport +1.873s
17 Franco Colapinto Drivex School +2.061s
18 Rui Andrade Drivex School +2.332s
19 Stefano Leaney CF Racing +4.131s
20 Stuart Wiltshire CF Racing +8.153s
21 Aldo Festante Teo Martin Motorsport +1m03.849s