Home Featured Camara prevails in Italian F4 after crazy restart leads to red flag

Camara prevails in Italian F4 after crazy restart leads to red flag

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Rafael Camara overcame his Prema team-mate Andrea Kimi Antonelli to win the third Italian Formula 4 race at Misano.

Antonelli started on pole and led for the majority of the race, deflecting an attack from Camara through the opening corners and then building a cushion between himself and his team-mate until the safety car was called out in the second half of the race due to an incident involving Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jules Castro and BVM Racing’s Kim Hwarang.

At this point Charlie Wurz, but was being chased down by Alex Dunne, and PHM Racing’s Nikita Bedrin had been making use of fresh tyres to climb up the order to fifth.

Bedrin attacked Dunne and Camara attacked Antonelli at the restart, with Camara managing to get alongside into the second corner and then taking the lead from Antonelli at the third. Dunne meanwhile got Wurz before turn three and started attacking Antonelli as Barnard tries going down the inside of Wurz.

The first casualty of the squabbling was Dunne, whose front wing flew into the air, then Wurz’s suspension broke and Bedrin, who was right behind him, ended up going off the track behind the squirming Prema entry.

Somehow Dunne was then on the next straight able to pass Antonelli, and behind them Iron Lynx’s Maya Weug got in the fight and Wurz’s car flew off track. Dunne remarkably kept second until the final sector of the lap, with Marcus Amand – who early in the race had gone off and dropped outside the top 10 – was now fourth ahead of Kacper Sztuka, Weug and Conrad Laursen.

Camara crossed the line with a second to go, meaning there would be two more laps of the race, and there was now two more cars in the fight for what was now seventh as Dunne valiantly drove on. Weug was in the thick of that fight, having lost her front wing too.

Dunne dropped to ninth before the final lap, with Arias Deukmedjian and Taylor Barnard getting ahead and the latter trying desperately to pass the former, while Weug was trying to hold on to a position outside of the points when she went off the track and returned across the front of two other cars.

As another two then approached it resulted in Jenzer Motorsport’s Ethan Ischer riding over the front of R-ace GP’s Marcos Flack and then into the side of Weug, whose car then went irborne and across the track again, obliterating PHM’s Victoria Blokhina. Others got caught in the melee and the race was immediately red flagged, with the results going back a lap to decide the order. All of the drivers involved were able to swiftly depart their cars.

Race result (17 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Rafael Camara Prema 29m57.863s
2 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema +2.332s
3 Marcus Amand US Racing +2.776s
4 Kacper Sztuka US Racing +3.115s
5 Conrad Laursen Prema +3.986s
6 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing +4.220s
7 Alex Dunne US Racing +4.246s
8 Maya Weug Iron Lynx +4.527s
9 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +4.634s
10 Arias Deukmedjian Van Amersfoort Racing +4.648s
11 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx +4.932s
12 Nikhil Bohra US Racing +5.423s
13 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing +5.603s
14 Alfio Spina BWR Motorsports +5.890s
15 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing +6.239s
16 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport +6.783s
17 Marcos Flack R-ace GP +7.021s
18 William Karlsson Jenzer Motorsport +7.186s
19 Pedro Clerot AKM Motorsport +7.793s
20 Andrea Frassineti Cars Racing +9.419s
21 Pedro Perino US Racing +9.798s
22 Rishab Jain BWR Motorsports +10.058s
23 Manuel Quondamcarlo AS Motorsport +10.887s
24 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport +11.860s
25 Ismal Akhmed AKM Motorsport +12.688s
26 Giovanni Maschio AS Motorsport +13.036s
27 Charlie Wurz Prema +1 lap
28 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +1 lap
29 James Wharton Prema +1 lap
30 Victoria Blokhina PHM Racing +1 lap
31 Frederik Lund R-ace GP +1 lap
32 Elia Sperandio Maffi Racing +1 lap
33 Kim Hwarang BVM Racing +5 laps
34 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing +5 laps
Ret Jonas Ried PHM Racing
Fastest lap: Antonelli, 1m35.752s

Championship standings
1 Camara 102   2 Dunne 79   3 Antonelli 69   4 Sztuka 56   5 Wharton 54   6 Amand 49   7 Stenshorne 44   8 Wurz 42   9 Bedrin 29   10 Laursen 26