Home Formula 4Italian F4 Camara claims top spot in Prema 1-2-3-4 in Italian F4 practice

Camara claims top spot in Prema 1-2-3-4 in Italian F4 practice

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Rafael Camara led a Prema lockout of the top four positions in Italian Formula 4 free practice at Misano.

The competitive order was remarkably similar to the pre-event test the day before, and there was 0.460 seconds covering the lead quartet of drivers while AS Motorsport’s Manuel Quondamcarlo was slowest and 4.117s off the pace.

Andrea Kimi Antonelli was fastest in FP1 on Friday morning, although points leader Alex Dunne initially set the pace. The US Racing driver’s eaely 1m36.434s benchmark was lowered by himself several times to maintain first place all the way into the final 10 minutes of the session, with team-mate Marcus Amand eventually usurpring him with just over six minutes to go by setting a 1m35.960s lap that put him 0.011s ahead.

It was a US 1-2-3 at this point as Kacper Sztuka held third place, with Charlie Wurz the top Prema driver in fourth and 0.193s back. The order changed somewhat though in the final minutes, as Prema’s Antonelli went fastest by 0.202s and Camara rose to fourth place. Conrad Laursen, another of Prema’s drivers, was seventh quickest and 0.396s back.

Absent from the session was Niko Lacorte, in the Cetilar Racing-branded Iron Lynx-run entry, and AS Motorsport’s Manuel Quondamcarlo, both making their series debuts this weekend.

They appeared in FP2 in the afternoon however, where Antonelli quickly got up to a similar pace he had set in the morning in an early Prema 1-2-3-4.

He set a new benchmark of 1m35.657s, which was then lowered further later on as Camara went to the top with a 1m35.258s lap. Antonelli improved, going 0.189s slower than his team-mate, and Wurz and James Wharton were four tenths back in third and fourth.

Sztuka and Dunne denied Prema a top-five lockout by shuffling Laursen down to seventh ahead of PHM Racing’s Nikita Bedrin and Amand, who couldn’t match his FP1 time. Also slower in the second session were Jenzer Motorsport debutant Valentin Kluss and PHM Racing’s Victoria Blokhina.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Rafael Camara Prema 1m35.258s 86
2 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m35.447s +0.189s 87
3 Charlie Wurz Prema 1m35.659s +0.401s 85
4 James Wharton Prema 1m35.718s +0.460s 88
5 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m35.754s +0.496s 88
6 Alex Dunne US Racing 1m35.777s +0.519s 87
7 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m35.792s +0.534s 83
8 Nikta Bedrin PHM Racing 1m35.950s +0.692s 106
9 Marcus Amand US Racing 1m35.960s +0.702s 94
10 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.066s +0.808s 93
11 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.134s +0.876s 91
12 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx 1m36.168s +0.910s 93
13 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.266s +1.008s 97
14 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m36.287s +1.029s 93
15 Alfio Spina BWR Motorsports 1m36.386s +1.128s 105
16 Nikhil Bohra US Racing 1m36.389s +1.131s 79
17 Marcos Flack R-ace GP 1m36.398s +1.140s 92
18 Jonas Ried PHM Racing 1m36.459s +1.201s 44
19 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.467s +1.209s 81
20 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m36.528s +1.270s 91
21 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.568s +1.310s 84
22 Arias Deukmedjian Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.613s +1.355s 92
23 Pedro Perino US Racing 1m36.663s +1.405s 92
24 Kim Hwarang BVM Racing 1m36.759s +1.501s 91
25 Pedro Clerot AKM Motorsport 1m36.807s +1.549s 103
26 Victoria Blokhina PHM Racing 1m36.917s +1.659s 86
27 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.935s +1.677s 79
28 Alex Partyshev Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.985s +1.727s 85
29 Niko Lacorte Cetilar Racing 1m37.065s +1.807s 62
30 William Karlsson BVM Racing 1m37.092s +1.834s 81
31 Frederik Lund R-ace GP 1m37.124s +1.866s 87
32 Andrea Frassineti Cars Racing 1m37.241s +1.983s 98
33 Elia Sperandio Maffi Racing 1m37.311s +2.053s 83
34 Giovanni Maschio AS Motorsport 1m38.201s +2.943s 88
35 Ismoilkhuja Akhmedkhodjaev AS Motorsport 1m38.323s +3.065s 104
36 Rishab Jain BWR Motorsports 1m38.434s +3.176s 68
37 Manuel Quondamcarlo AS Motorsport 1m39.375s +4.117s 47