Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Caldwell tops Red Bull Ring F3 practice after Doohan’s time deleted

Caldwell tops Red Bull Ring F3 practice after Doohan’s time deleted

by Jordan Edwards

Photo: Prema

Olli Caldwell went fastest in free practice for the third round of the FIA Formula 3 Championship at the Red Bull Ring with a time of 1m19.970s.

The Prema driver came out on top after Jack Doohan had his fastest lap time deleted after the session, dropping him to 22nd place.

Trident driver Doohan had been 0.225s ahead of Caldwell after they and much of the field opted to put on a fresh set of medium compound tyres near the end of the session.

Dennis Hauger and Caio Collet were swapping fastest times for much of free practice with only 0.033s separating the two for most of the first half of the session.

Lap times began to tumble across the whole field in the last five minutes of the session as a number of teams opted to put a set of new tyres.

Ayumu Iwasa, also struggling with track limits, was the first driver seen to switch to the second set of tyres which put him ninth-fastest after spending much of the session at the bottom of the timings screen. But he was unable to stay in the top 10 as times began to tumble.

Logan Sargeant took third for Charouz Racing System while ART Grand Prix’s Alexander Smolyar was fourth despite wiping out the DRS board on the exit of the final corner late on.

Finding time in the first and third sectors, Arthur Leclerc slowly cut time throughout the session and worked his way up the field with new tyres to place himself fifth fastest, 0.310s off the lead

There were a number of deleted lap times up and down the field due to track limits violations at Turns 3, 9 and 10 with both David Schumacher and Amaury Cordeel being shown black and white flags.

Free practice results

Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m19.970s 25
2 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m19.974s +0.004s 24
3 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 1m20.010s +0.040s 21
4 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m20.018s +0.048s 25
5 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m20.055s +0.085s 25
6 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m20.078s +0.108s 25
7 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m20.094s +0.124s 23
8 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m20.134s +0.164s 23
9 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m20.190s +0.220s 24
10 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m20.291s +0.321s 25
11 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m20.424s +0.454s 25
12 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m20.469s +0.499s 25
13 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m20.475s +0.505s 24
14 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport 1m20.487s +0.517s 22
15 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m20.496s +0.526s 24
16 David Schumacher Trident 1m20.534s +0.564s 21
17 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m20.693s +0.723s 24
18 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m20.753s +0.783s 18
19 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m20.888s +0.918s 19
20 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m20.942s +0.972s 24
21 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m20.945s +0.975s 24
22 Jack Doohan Trident 1m20.948s +0.978s 18
23 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m20.949s +0.979s 21
24 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m21.125s +1.152s 24
25 Clement Novalak Carlin 1m21.145s +1.172s 11
26 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m21.317s +1.347s 24
27 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing 1m21.407s +1.437s 24
28 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m21.537s +1.567s 24
29 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m21.593s +1.623s 19
30 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m21.847s +1.877s 2