Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Caio Collet tops second morning of F3’s Barcelona test

Caio Collet tops second morning of F3’s Barcelona test

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

MP Motorsport’s Caio Collet topped the times on the second morning of the FIA Formula 3 in-season test at Barcelona.

Early in the session, drivers went out to complete performance runs. ART Grand Prix’s Gregoire Saucy was the driver on top of the leaderboard after the first run, 30 minutes in. His benchmark lap, a 1m32.109s, was one tenth faster than the day one pace, which he also set.

A few minutes later, cars took the track for second runs, and this time it would be Collet who went on top. The Brazilian set a best time of 1m31.507s, clearing Saucy by six tenths of a second. MP’s Alex Smolyar, Van Amersfoort Racing’s Franco Colapinto, Hitech GP’s Isack Hadjar and Trident’s Roman Stanek were the other four drivers to break the 1m32s barrier, but none of them could get within three tenths of Collet.

Drivers devoted the rest of the morning to long runs. Like on the first afternoon of testing, Colapinto was the driver who completed the most laps (51). Hitech’s Kaylen Frederik was the next most productive on 49 laps, and Charouz Racing System’s Laszlo Toth set 48 laps.

The session went without mechanical failures or off-track excursions, which allowed three hours of green flag running, something that already happened in the afternoon of the first day of testing.

Morning session
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m31.507s 33
2 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport 1m31.824s +0.317s 38
3 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.848s +0.341s 51
4 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m31.855s +0.348s 46
5 Roman Stanek Trident 1m31.935s +0.428s 28
6 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m32.002s +0.495s 42
7 Oliver Rasmussen Trident 1m32.080s +0.573s 20
8 Zane Maloney Trident 1m32.107s +0.600s 27
9 Matteo Nannini ART Grand Prix 1m32.177s +0.670s 47
10 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m32.206s +0.699s 41
11 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 1m32.223s +0.716s 24
12 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m32.380s +0.873s 38
13 Jak Crawford Prema 1m32.412s +0.905s 36
14 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m32.422s +0.915s 44
15 David Vidales Prema 1m32.433s +0.926s 36
16 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing 1m32.549s +1.042s 37
17 Kaylen Frederick Hitech GP 1m32.550s +1.043s 49
18 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.555s +1.048s 47
19 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m32.561s +1.054s 41
20 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.669s +1.162s 38
21 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.847s +1.340s 37
22 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 1m32.851s +1.344s 44
23 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m32.935s +1.428s 30
24 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System 1m33.001s +1.494s 43
25 Enzo Trulli Carlin 1m33.084s +1.577s 31
26 Nazim Azman Hitech GP 1m33.283s +1.776s 33
27 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.297s +1.790s 30
28 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m33.347s +1.840s 30
29 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.457s +1.950s 30
30 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 1m34.522s +3.015s 48