Home Featured Caio Collet on pole for 2020 Toyota Racing Series opener

Caio Collet on pole for 2020 Toyota Racing Series opener

by Craig Woollard

Renault junior Caio Collet will start the season-opening Toyota Racing Series race from pole at Highlands Motorsport Park, despite not improving on his final lap.

Collet spent much of the 15-minute session lurking towards the top of the times, before overhauling reigning series champion Liam Lawson with three minutes to spare.

After a slow preparation lap, followed by a fast one that was not quite as fast as his session-best 1m28.105s, Collet was able to hold onto the top spot.

M2 Competition?s Lawson came close with his final run but fell just shy by 0.069s. This marks the first pole for MTEC – which has a new engineering partnerhsip with Collet’s Formula Renault Eurocup squad R-ace GP – since 2015.

Lirim Zendeli was almost half a second shy of the frontrunners by the finish after the Giles Motorsport runner was top of the timesheets towards the middle of the session.

Team-mate, and early session leader, Gregoire Saucy rounded out the top five, with Igor Fraga (M2) just fractions behind Zendeli in fourth.

Honda protege Yuki Tsunoda had a somewhat anonymous run to sixth, ahead of the top Kiwi Motorsport driver Franco Colapinto.

Petr Ptacek, Jackson Walls and Oliver Rasmussen round out the top 10.

Three competitors failed to set a time. Amaury Cordeel and Jose Blanco-Chock missed out after a big practice crash on Friday, while Lucas Petersson had an incident early in the session.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Caio Collet MTEC by R-ace GP 1m28.105s
2 Liam Lawson M2 Competition +0.069s
3 Lirim Zendeli Giles Motorsport +0.495s
4 Igor Fraga M2 Competition +0.499s
5 Gregoire Saucy Giles Motorsport +0.560s
6 Yuki Tsunoda M2 Competition +0.592s
7 Franco Colapinto Kiwi Motorsport +0.598s
8 Petr Ptacek MTEC by R-ace GP +0.976s
9 Jackson Walls MTEC by R-ace GP +1.329s
10 Oliver Rasmussen MTEC by R-ace GP +1.552s
11 Emilien Denner M2 Competition +1.824s
12 Rui Andrade M2 Competition +1.852s
13 Spike Kohlbecker Kiwi Motorsport +2.140s
14 Henning Enqvist Giles Motorsport +2.298s
15 Axel Gnos Kiwi Motorsport +3.196s
16 Chelsea Herbert Giles Motorsport +3.622s
17 Ido Cohen M2 Competition +4.023s
18 Amaury Cordeel Kiwi Motorsport no time
19 Jose Blanco-Chock Kiwi Motorsport no time
20 Lucas Petersson MTEC by R-ace GP no time