Home Formula FordNational FF1600 BRSCC National FF1600 adds Knockhill’s David Leslie Trophy to calendar

BRSCC National FF1600 adds Knockhill’s David Leslie Trophy to calendar

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jim Moir

BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 has added Knockhill to this season’s calendar, with the replacement round being shared with Scottish FFord and also awarding the David Leslie Trophy.

Last week National FF1600 announced its Snetterton season opener on April 10/11 would be postponed as the result of several difficulties arising from British motorsport’s return from the current national lockdown.

The original opening round on Silverstone’s International layout had already been cancelled, leaving the series one down on its intended schedule of eight events with Snetteron to be drafted back in before its second scheduled appearance in October.

“Exciting news for all Formula Ford competitors and fans… the National Formula Ford championship is making a trip north to Knockhill Circuit on Sunday 6th June,” read a championship statement.

“By partnering with the Scottish Motor Racing Club, we have been able to replace our lost April rounds for this season’s BRSCC Formula Ford 1600 National Championship with a visit to the iconic Scottish circuit.

“On what is a true driver’s circuit, the day’s track action will include a 20-minute qualifying session and two 20-minute races, with the second race seeing drivers also competing to win the prestigious David Leslie Trophy, named in honour of the late great Scottish racer.”

National FF1600 last visited Knockhill in 2018, when the use of the circuit’s reverse layout resulted in a controversial incident where drivers encountered a stationary safety car just beyond the crest of the pit straight and a multi-car crash ensued that luckily resulted in no injuries.

The series’ return to the circuit, running in the usual clockwise direction, means it is the only ‘British’ single-seater championship this year as it will race in England, Scotland and Wales.

The two races in June will also act as the opening round for Scottish FFord, which will race in England in 2021 with a visit to Caldwell Park in September alongside its five Knockhill rounds.

Jordan Gronkowski is the most successful driver at the David Leslie Trophy, having won it twice during his time in Scottish FFord. Other trophy victors include National FF1600 champions Neil Maclennan and Ross Martin, Dario Franchitti’s protege Ciaran Haggerty, Scottish FFord champion Adam MacKay, Seb Melrose and reigning winner Logan Hannah.

British FF1600 calendars
Round National FF1600 Date Rd Scottish FFord Date
1 Donington Park (National) May 8/9 1 Knockhill June 6
2 Knockhill June 6 2 Knockhill July 18
3 Silverstone (National) June 19/20 3 Knockhill August 8
4 Anglesey (International) July 10/11 4 Cadwell Park September 12
5 Brands Hatch (Indy) August 7/8 5 Knockhill October 10
6 Oulton Park (International) September 11 6 Knockhill (anti-clockwise) October 31
7 Snetterton (300) October 9/10
TBA Snetterton (300) TBA