Home Formula 4British F4 Browning leads top four spread by 0.042s in British F4 test at Brands

Browning leads top four spread by 0.042s in British F4 test at Brands

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Luke Browning edged his title rivals in the pre-event test for the British Formula 4 season finale at Brands Hatch.

There were two sessions on the circuit’s Indy layout on Wednesday, and the day started with Arden’s Alex Connor setting the pace by 0.039 seconds.

Zak O’Sullivan, the points leader over Browning on wins countback, was the closest to Connor, with Roman Bilinski putting the second of Arden’s cars third on the timesheet.

The entry list was boosted by three test-only drivers from the karting scene. McKenzy Cresswell was driving for JHR Developments, Australia’s Marcos Flack – who was evaluated by the Ferrari Driver Academy last month – joined Argenti Motorsport and Dougie Bolger was in a fourth car for Carlin as he aims to graduate to F4 with the team next year.

Flack ended up being the quickest of the three, 0.419s off the test-topping laptime set by Fortec Motorsports’ Browning in the afternoon session.

Argenti’s Casper Stevenson, who is also in title contention, was 0.004s slower than Browning and set his best effort at the very end of his final run on track. O’Sullivan improved on his morning lap in third place, only 0.036s behind Browning, and Connor was fourth quickest based off his lap from the first session.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Luke Browning Fortec Motorsports 46.177s 194
2 Casper Stevenson Argenti Motorsport 46.181s +0.004s 136
3 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 46.213s +0.036s 176
4 Alex Connor Arden 46.219s +0.042s 196
5 Roman Bilinski Arden 46.412s +0.235s 177
6 Matias Zagazeta Carlin 46.433s +0.256s 158
7 James Hedley JHR Developments 46.448s +0.271s 139
8 Abbi Pulling JHR Developments 46.493s +0.316s 155
9 Christian Mansell Carlin 46.536s +0.359s 141
10 Marcos Flack Argenti Motorsport 46.596s +0.419s 154
11 McKenzy Cresswell JHR Developments 46.615s +0.438s 204
12 Frederick Lubin Arden 46.663s +0.486s 189
13 Dougie Bolger Carlin 46.851s +0.674s 195
14 Reema Juffali Argenti Motorsport 46.936s +0.759s 163