Home Formula 3GB3 Browning dominates again in GB3’s second Oulton Park race

Browning dominates again in GB3’s second Oulton Park race

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Luke Browning continued his perfect start to the GB3 season with another dominant victory from pole in race two at Oulton Park. 

The Hitech GP driver again led home Carlin’s Roberto Faria by a slightly reduced gap of 8.924 seconds compared to Saturday’s opener. 

A lightning start ensured Browning immediately gained the advantage, but a slow getaway from Fortec Motorsports’ Joel Granfors allowed Faria to nip up the inside into second. 

Granfors remained just over a second behind the Sauber junior for most of the race, but had company from JHR Developments’ Matthew Rees, who came home 0.4s behind in fourth. 

John Bennett finished fifth for Elite Motorsport, the single-seater debutant sweeping around the outside of team-mate Tom Lebbon at the start and remaining ahead until the chequered flag. 

Lebbon also resisted a challenge from Chris Dittmann Racing’s McKenzy Cresswell on the opening lap on his way to sixth. 

Cresswell held off Carlin’s Javier Sagrera by half a second for seventh, with Sagrera’s team-mate Callum Voisin coming home ninth and both recovering after an awful race one.

James Hedley was 10th for Elite ahead of Max Esterson (Douglas Motorsport) and Zak Taylor (Fortec). 

Hitech’s Cian Shields retired on the first lap, while CDR’s Branden Lee Oxley slid into a gravel trap at Island bend following contact with Arden’s Alex Connor. 

Race results (14 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Luke Browning Hitech GP 20m59.933s
2 Roberto Faria Carlin +8.924s
3 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports +10.305s
4 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +10.736s
5 John Bennett Elite Motorsport +14.583s
6 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +14.992s
7 McKenzy Cresswell Chris Dittmann Racing +16.195s
8 Javier Sagrera Carlin +16.698s
9 Callum Voisin Carlin +20.013s
10 James Hedley Elite Motorsport +30.230s
11 Max Esterson Douglas Motorsport +30.515s
12 Zak Taylor Fortec Motorsports +31.393s
13 Alex Connor Arden +31.497s
14 Marcos Flack Douglas Motorsport +31.717s
15 Bryce Aron Hitech GP +32.641s
16 David Morales Arden +40.841s
17 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport +42.182s
18 Megan Gilkes Hillspeed +42.719s
19 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +1m03.688s
20 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing
Ret Cian Shields Hitech GP
Fastest lap: Browning, 1m29.205s

Championship standings
Browning 70   2 Faria 58   3 Rees 45   4 Granfors 41   5 Bennett 38   6 Cresswell 36   7 Lebbon 24   8 Taylor 24   9 Flack 19   10 Hedley 19