Home Z - Archive seriesBritish F3 British F3 format and calendar further revised for 2013

British F3 format and calendar further revised for 2013

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

The Cooper Tires British Formula Three International Series has revealed its 2013 calendar today alongside some regulation changes that will come into effect next year. The 2013 season of British F3 has nine rounds confirmed for it, with a tenth round currently under consideration. As of now, this puts the amount of races in the season at 26, with every round except for Pau being a three-race affair.

Alongside with the calendar, that seems to have dropped circuits like Rockingham, Monza and Norisring in favour of Nurburgring and Paul Ricard, the weekend structure is also set to undergo some changes. Firstly, the points allocation for the reverse-grid second race will not yield as many points as races one and three, instead awarding the top ten finishers on a scale of 12 ? 9 ? 8 ? 6 ? 5 ? 4 ? 3 – 2 – 1 ? 0,5. The bonus points for fastest lap will no longer be awarded while the reverse grid will now be determined via random draw on whether the top ten, nine or eight will be reversed.

As of now, the revised provisional calendar for the series is as follows:

30 Mar/1 Apr – Oulton Park (GBR)

18/19 May – Grand Prix de Pau (FRA) (double-header special)

25/26 May – Silverstone Grand Prix (GBR)

15/16 Jun – Snetterton 300 (GBR)

29/30 Jun – Paul Ricard (FRA)

25/27 Jul ? Spa-Francorchamps (BEL)

10/11 Aug – Brands Hatch Grand Prix (GBR)

21/22 Sep ? N?rburgring (GER)

05/06 Oct – Donington Park Grand Prix (GBR)

In additional to the regular series, SRO are setting up a five round ?British F3 National Invitation Trophy?, with that event visiting Pau, Silverstone, Paul Ricard, Spa and Nurburgring. According to SRO’s championship manager Benjamin Franassovicci, the aim of the trophy is ?attracting a number of European national competitors who might not have the budget for a full season ?