Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Boschung leads Gunther in Hockenheimring practice

Boschung leads Gunther in Hockenheimring practice

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: ADAC Formel Masters

Team KUG’s Ralph Boschung has followed up his maiden race win in the previous ADAC Formel Masters event by topping the opening Friday practice of the final round of the season at Hockenheim.

With a late-session effort, the Swiss driver was the only one to surpass 1:46s, clearing his nearest rivals Maximilian Gunther and Marvin Dienst by around two tenths and a half.

Out of the leading trio of Formula BMW Talent Cup graduates, Dienst was the one to put in the most consistently quick laps, but he eventually had to settle for third.

His teammate Nicolas Beer took fourth, ahead of Fabian Schiller and the top Lotus driver Beitske Visser.

Jason Kremer took seventh, ahead of crowned series champion Alessio Picariello, who was the final driver to come within a second of the quickest lap. Stefan Riener and Indy Dontje rounded out the top ten.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team Time Gap
1 Ralph Boschung Team KUG Motorsport 1:45.784
2 Maximilian Gunther ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 1:46.025 +0.241
3 Marvin Dienst Neuhauser Racing 1:46.043 +0.259
4 Nicolas Beer Neuhauser Racing 1:46.081 +0.297
5 Fabian Schiller Schiller Motorsport 1:46.233 +0.449
6 Beitske Visser Lotus 1:46.375 +0.591
7 Jason Kremer Schiller Motorsport 1:46.428 +0.644
8 Alessio Picariello ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 1:46.447 +0.663
9 Stefan Riener Neuhauser Racing 1:46.681 +0.897
10 Indy Dontje Lotus 1:47.163 +1.379
11 Mikkel Jensen Lotus 1:47.381 +1.597
12 Callan O’Keeffe Lotus 1:47.470 +1.686
13 Benedikt Gentgen JBR Motorsport & Engineering 1:47.476 +1.692
14 Kim-Luis Schramm ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 1:47.813 +2.029
15 Stephane Kox Team KUG Motorsport 1:47.962 +2.178
16 Hendrik Grapp ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 1:48.221 +2.437
17 Giorgio Maggi ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 1:48.294 +2.510
18 Kim Giersiepen KSW Motorsport 1:48.437 +2.653
19 Hannes Utsch JBR Motorsport & Engineering 1:48.747 +2.963
20 Marcel Lenerz JBR Motorsport & Engineering 1:49.303 +3.519
21 Martin Gatz KSW Motorsport 1:49.455 +3.671