Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Bernier dominates final ADAC F4 race at wet Lausitzring

Bernier dominates final ADAC F4 race at wet Lausitzring

by Craig Woollard

Photo: ADAC/Gruppe C Photography

R-ace GP’s Victor Bernier took his second ADAC Formula 4 win of the season by commanding the third race of a wet weekend at Lausitzring.

Bernier started fourth on the reversed grid alongside Oliver Bearman, who had angled his car on the grid.

Front row starters Roee Meyuhas and Jonny Edgar did not get away well at all – with R-ace’s Meyuhas dropping down to ninth.

That allowed Bernier to lead Bearman in the early stages, and he was able to pull away to be around seven seconds ahead.

Bearman found himself in an early scrap with Joshua Duerksen before the Mucke Motorsport driver went off.

US Racing driver Bearman was then pressured by R-ace’s Kirill Smal, and the pair made contact at Turn 1 towards the final third of the 30-minute race.

They then proceeded to make further contact at Turn 3 as Bearman had oversteer. Having had his suspension damaged, Bearman then collected Van Amersfoort Racing title contender Jak Crawford.

The incident was investigated, but it was decided that no further action would be taken.

That allowed US Racing’s Tim Tramnitz into second, who put in a fine drive from seventh on the grid.

On the restart, Bernier was able to pull away and lead Tramnitz home from Smal, who found himself under pressure from VAR’s Edgar until the end.

Meyuhas recovered to sixth, ahead of US Racing’s Elias Seppanen, who started at the very back.

Duerksen led home a Mucke trio from seventh through to ninth with Erick Zuniga and Josef Knopp behind.

US Racing’s Vlad Lomko, who won the first race of the weekend, rounded out the points in a quiet race.

VAR’s ADAC F4 debutant Cenyu Han had raced up to sixth in the early stages, but dropped down the order after having a few excursions off the circuit and was the only finisher outside of the points.

Race Results (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Victor Bernier R-ace GP 32m06.099s
2 Tim Tramnitz US Racing +3.503s
3 Kirill Smal R-ace GP +8.598s
4 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing +9.185s
5 Roee Meyuhas R-ace GP +10.410s
6 Elias Seppanen US Racing +10.508s
7 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +11.166s
8 Erick Zuniga Mucke Motorsport +11.907s
9 Josef Knopp Mucke Motorsport +14.630s
10 Vlad Lomko US Racing +14.820s
11 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing +42.201s
Ret Oliver Bearman US Racing
Ret Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing
Fastest lap: Crawford, 2m06.390s

Championship standings
Edgar 264   2 Crawford 241   3 Seppanen 217   4 Bernier 193   5 Tramnitz 189   6 Duerksen 157   7 Bearman 117   8 Lomko 112   9 Smal 87   10 Gabriele Mini 82