Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Belov goes fastest in FREC Q2 at Valencia

Belov goes fastest in FREC Q2 at Valencia

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Regional by Alpine

Michael Belov took pole position in Formula Regional European Championship qualifying two at Valencia in a session conditioned by the lack of grip.

This afternoon’s race two will be the second time the G4 Racing driver starts from pole-position, after race one at Spa earlier in the year.

There was a slow start to the session with just a few drivers going out on track in the early minutes.

Several preparation laps were needed before drivers went for a timed lap as track temperature was still low, and the rubber laid down yesterday was gone after the evening showers.

Drivers only started to set competitive lap times with eight minutes remaining in the session.

Belov went fastest first, but MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto soon bettered Belov’s time.

ART Grand Prix was having a much better day after Saturday’s struggles. The French team had his championship leader Gregoire Saucy sitting in the top three for most of the session and he eventually qualified third.

Gabriele Mini was also able to get into the top 10 today, after sitting outside of it yesterday.

With one minute to go, Belov reclaimed first place with a lap of 1m 28.890s, demoting Colapinto to second place.

A late effort had upped Prema’s Dino Beganovic to fourth place. However, his lap was cancelled, which leaves him down to 14th on the grid.

Fourth and fifth place were for R-Ace GP’s Isaack Hadjar and Hadrien David, with FA Racing’s Gabriel Bortoleto setting the sixth fastest time.

After their race one podiums, the sessionn was a bit more difficult for Spanish drivers David Vidales and Mari Boya, who will line up seventh and eighth respectively.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m28.890s 11
2 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m29.092s +0.202s 9
3 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m29.140s +0.250s 10
4 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m29.411s +0.521s 9
5 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m29.415s +0.525s 10
6 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing 1m29.441s +0.551s 9
7 David Vidales Prema Powerteam 1m29.453s +0.563s 10
8 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.530s +0.640s 8
9 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m29.568s +0.678s 9
10 Paul Aron Prema Powerteam 1m29.632s +0.742s 8
11 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m29.685s +0.795s 9
12 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.754s +0.864s 8
13 Gianluca Petecof Kic Motorsport 1m29.773s +0.883s 9
14 Dino Beganovic Prema Powerteam 1m29.785s +0.895s 6
15 William Alatalo Arden 1m29.831s +0.941s 9
16 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m29.842s +0.952s 8
17 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m30.060s +1.170s 7
18 Alex Quinn Arden 1m30.072s +1.182s 8
19 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m30.085s +1.195s 10
20 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m30.118s +1.228s 9
21 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing 1m30.155s +1.265s 8
22 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m30.155s +1.265s 8
23 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m30.356s +1.466s 9
24 Andrea Rosso FA Racing 1m30.411s +1.521s 5
25 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m30.456s +1.566s 9
26 Nico Gohler Kic Motorsport 1m30.503s +1.613s 10
27 Jose Garfias Monolite Racing 1m30.596s +1.706s 7
28 Patrik Pasma ART Grand Prix 1m30.624s +1.734s 8
29 Belen García G4 Racing 1m30.909s +2.019s 8
30 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m31.017s +2.127s 9
31 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m32.150s +3.260s 7
32 Dilano Van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m33.751s +4.861s 7
33 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m36.755s +7.865s 7
34 Jasin Ferati Kic Motorsport 1m42.636s +13.746s 5