Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Belov fastest for MP on first day of FREC’s pre-season Monza test

Belov fastest for MP on first day of FREC’s pre-season Monza test

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

Formula Regional European Championship’s third pre-season test got underway at Monza on Tuesday, with MP Motorsport’s Michael Belov topping the times.

Belov was fastest in the morning session, heading Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort by 0.282 seconds and ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini by 0.318s.

The top 17 were spread by a second, with R-ace GP’s 2021 runner-up Hadrien David at the bottom of that group. Forgoing fresh tyres for flying laps and only 24th fastest was Paul Aron, and Monolite Racing’s Maceo Capietto was 31st.

Belov and Haverkort were at the top during much of the morning once the track had gripped up, with the pair sitting in first and second through the final hour of running as they improved on their own laptimes.

Towards the end there was a stoppage caused by Monolite’s Cenyu Han who encountered trouble on track. After his car was recovered, the session restarted for less than a minute before the chequered flag.

The majority of drivers went faster in the afternoon, and Belov and Haverkort were towards the top through much of the action again. A 1m47.671s lap from Haverkort was the benchmark to beat going into the final hour, and it wasn’t until the final eight minutes was he usurped as Arden’s Eduardo Barrichello set a 1m47.563s.

For a long time Capietto had been second to Haverkort, but when Barrichello moved ahead he then made his own improvement, a 1m47.664s, that meant he ended the session in second and the day in fifth overall.

Barrichello’s session-topping time put him third in the combined timesheet, between Haverkort and Mini who was 30th in the afternoon. Belov was four places ahead, in a top 27 covered by a second.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Michael Belov MP Motorsport 1m47.279s 56
2 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.561s +0.282s 69
3 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m47.573s +0.294s 62
4 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m47.597s +0.318s 69
5 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m47.664s +0.385s 77
6 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m47.686s +0.407s 68
7 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m47.694s +0.415s 69
8 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m47.715s +0.436s 76
9 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m47.887s +0.608s 71
10 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing 1m47.895s +0.616s 74
11 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m47.940s +0.661s 74
12 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m47.954s +0.675s 75
13 Paul Aron Prema 1m47.957s +0.678s 83
14 Noel Leon Arden 1m47.970s +0.691s 71
15 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m47.993s +0.714s 53
16 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m48.001s +0.722s 56
17 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m48.006s +0.727s 73
18 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m48.045s +0.766s 72
19 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m48.064s +0.785s 67
20 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m48.068s +0.789s 74
21 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 1m48.124s +0.845s 69
22 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 1m48.148s +0.869s 73
23 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport 1m48.183s +0.904s 44
24 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m48.282s +1.003s 67
25 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 1m48.288s +1.009s 58
26 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m48.299s +1.020s 54
27 Keith Donegan R-P-M 1m48.338s +1.059s 64
28 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m48.364s +1.085s 57
29 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m48.373s +1.094s 88
30 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m48.460s +1.181s 76
31 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m48.788s +1.509s 67
32 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing 1m48.867s +1.588s 63
33 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 1m48.879s +1.600s 58
34 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m48.949s +1.670s 71
35 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m49.055s +1.776s 58
36 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m49.106s +1.827s 73
37 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m49.263s +1.984s 70