Home Featured Beganovic extends FREC lead with lights-to-flag Monaco win

Beganovic extends FREC lead with lights-to-flag Monaco win

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: FREC/Dutch Photo Agency.

Prema’s Dino Beganovic claimed a comfortable lights-to-flag victory in the second Formula Regional European Championship in Monaco, continuing his 2022 podium streak.

Beganovic led from pole, while ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini tried to gain second place into the first corner with a late braking. However, R-ace GP’s Hadrien David held on around the outside of the Italian to stay in his starting position.

Several incidents further down the pack brought the safety car out before the end of the opening lap. Trident’s Roman Bilinski found himself in the wall the the exit of Casino, and the same happened to Monolite Racing’s Maceo Capietto at Tabac.

Van Amersfort Racing’s Joshua Dufek missed his braking point on the way down to the Nouvelle chicane and slightly hit the rear of R-ace GP’s Lorenzo Fluxa. Both drivers were able to continue, but Dufek had to dive into the pit-lane for a new front-wing.

The race resumed shortly after with the top 10 runners holding on to their positions. In the middle of the pack, Trident’s Tim Tramnitz passed FA Racing’s Esteban Masson for 15th place at the Grand Hotel hairpin. Tramnitz also touched the rear of Prema’s Sebastian Montoya in the process, but the contact had no consequences for any of the drivers.

Beganovic soon opened a gap at the lead, which was as big as five seconds with less than 10 minutes on the clock. David, who had been under pressure from Mini in the first laps after the safety car, increased his pace in the closing laps, but it wasn’t enough to challenge Beganovic for the win.

The Frenchman took the chequered flag in second place, just over two seconds behind race-winner Beganovic and ahead of Mini, who was pressured by VAR’s Kas Haverkort as the race approached its end.

In the final laps, Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli missed his braking point at the exit of the tunnel, which resulted in him taking a non-optimal line into the Nouvelle Chicane. The Italian, who was running within the top 10, avoided cutting the chicane, but lost position to the four cars behind him to drop outside of the points positions.

Laurens van Hoepen was one of the drivers to gain a place thanks to Fornaroli’s mistake. The ART GP driver was the best-classified rookie in eighth place.

Race result (20 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Dino Beganovic Prema 31m31.601s
2 Hadrien David R-ace GP +2.106s
3 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +6.977s
4 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing +9.252s
5 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP +10.537s
6 Michael Belov MP Motorsport +11.745s
7 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix +13.037s
8 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +18.546s
9 Noel Leon Arden +20.896s
10 Joshua Duerksen Arden +21.697s
11 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport +22.347s
12 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +26.315s
13 Eduardo Barrichello Arden +28.162s
14 Sebastian Montoya Prema +28.561s
15 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP +29.590s
16 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M +31.732s
17 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP +32.256s
18 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP +34.878s
19 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing +36.285s
20 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport +37.076s
21 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +46.725s
22 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing +46.977s
23 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +47.665s
24 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport +56.406s
25 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP +57.185s
Ret Tim Tramnitz Trident
Ret Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing
Ret Roman Bilinski Trident
Fastest lap: Boya, 1m29.265s

Championship standings
 Beganovic 129   2 David 74   3 Mini 67   4 Haverkort 59   5 Belov 56   6 Bortoleto 49   7 Paul Aron 48   8 Boya 44   9 Montoya 20   10 Fluxa 15