Home Featured Beganovic claims pole for FREC race one at Paul Ricard

Beganovic claims pole for FREC race one at Paul Ricard

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Diederik van der Laan / Dutch Photo Agency

Prema’s Dino Beganovic set the fastest time in Formula Regional European Championship qualifying one at Paul Ricard, claiming his third pole position of the season.

Qualifying was split into two groups, and in Group A a full course yellow was out six minutes in before any driver had set a representative laptime as Monolite Racing’s Maceo Capietto has stopped with mechanical issues at the exit of turn six.

Pietro Delli Guanti was the first driver to put a laptime on the board once the track was cleared. However, the Race Performance Motorsport driver was soon bettered by FREC’s usual frontrunners.

MP Motorsport’s Michael Belov momentarily went fastest before his benchmark was improved by ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini, who would subsequently be bettered by Beganovic. Paul Aron slotted moved up into third as he closed his lap, putting Belov down to fourth.

There would still be time for one more attempt for Group A drivers. Beganovic set the best time, with his team-mate Aron in second just two thousands of a second off of the Swede’s benchmark. Mini was then third in group with his best time being just half-a-tenth slower than Beganovic’s, which would be the fastest of either group.

Behind them, Trident’s Tim Tramnitz put a last lap good enough to be fifth in group, which means he will start race one from ninth place as each group gets a side of the grid. His effort displaced Delli Guanti, who had kept that position for most of the session.

R-ace GP’s Lorenzo Fluxa was the first driver to lead the times in Group B ahead of team-mate Gabriel Bortoleto and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort. The latter two improved in their second attempt to move ahead of the Spaniard, with Bortoleto setting the group’s fastest time but not beating Beganovic’s time, meaning he will start race one from second place.

ART GP’s Mari Boya was fourth in group, followed by title contender Hadrien David, who could only be fifth fastest and will start race one at home soil from 10th on the grid.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m58.808s
2 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m59.062s
3 Paul Aron Prema 1m58.810s
4 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m59.260s
5 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m58.859s
6 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m59.284s
7 Michael Belov MP Motorsport 1m58.999s
8 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 1m59.364s
9 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m59.141s
10 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m59.390s
11 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 1m59.266s
12 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m59.571s
13 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m59.375s
14 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m59.610s
15 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing 1m59.385s
16 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m59.749s
17 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 1m59.569s
18 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m59.839s
19 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m59.582s
20 Roman Bilinski Trident 2m00.058s
21 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m59.601s
22 Noel Leon Arden 2m00.151s
23 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m59.632s
24 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 2m00.310s
25 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m59.690s
26 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 2m00.414s
27 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m59.966s
28 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 2m00.438s
29 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m59.988s
30 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 2m00.693s
31 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport 2m00.176s
32 Keith Donegan R-P-M 2m00.787s
33 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing 2m01.568s
34 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 2m00.867s
35 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 2m14.840s