Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Beckmann tops Silverstone FIA F3 practice as Piastri stops

Beckmann tops Silverstone FIA F3 practice as Piastri stops

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport

David Beckmann set the pace in free practice ahead of the FIA Formula 3 Championship’s second Silverstone round.

The Trident driver – winner of race two last Sunday – topped the times late in the session, ending the morning with a 1m45.195s lap to go 0.273 seconds clear of the rest of the field.

Prema’s Logan Sargeant spent most of the session top of the order, but improvements from Jack Doohan and Theo Pourchaire in their final laps dropped Sargeant to fourth.

Doohan finished second fastest, with Pourchaire a further 0.032s back.

Championship leader Oscar Piastri ran into problems early in the session. He had only completed three laps when he ground to a halt just off track, bringing out a Virtual Safety Car. He was unable to get going again and didn’t set a time during the session.

Silverstone race one winner Liam Lawson was fifth fastest ahead of Jake Hughes and Lirim Zendeli, who put in a strong final lap to jump into the top 10 after the chequered flag.

Frederik Vesti, Bent Viscaal, and Enzo Fittipaldi completed the top 10.


Practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 David Beckmann Trident 1m45.195s 14
2 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 1m45.468s +0.273s 16
3 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m45.500s +0.305s 16
4 Logan Sargeant Prema Racing 1m45.532s +0.337s 15
5 Liam Lawson Hitech Grand Prix 1m45.570s +0.375s 17
6 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1m45.667s +0.472s 15
7 Lirim Zendeli Trident 1m45.876s +0.681s 15
8 Frederik Vesti Prema Racing 1m45.907s +0.712s 14
9 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 1m45.964s +0.769s 13
10 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 1m45.985s +0.790s 15
11 Alex Peroni Campos Racing 1m46.008s +0.813s 17
12 Max Fewtrell Hitech Grand Prix 1m46.063s +0.868s 17
13 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m46.066s +0.871s 14
14 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m46.067s +0.872s 16
15 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System 1m46.099s +0.904s 17
16 Clement Novalak Carlin Racing 1m46.104s +0.909s 14
17 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m46.107s +0.912s 14
18 Ben Barnicoat Carlin Racing 1m46.122s +0.927s 14
19 Roman Stanek Charouz Racing System 1m46.131s +0.936s 16
20 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1m46.172s +0.977s 14
21 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport 1m46.241s +1.046s 15
22 Dennis Hauger Hitech Grand Prix 1m46.271s +1.076s 17
23 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix 1m46.287s +1.092s 16
24 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing 1m46.424s +1.229s 16
25 Cameron Das Carlin Racing 1m46.563s +1.368s 13
26 Olli Caldwell Trident 1m46.980s +1.785s 15
27 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 1m47.033s +1.838s 15
28 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1m47.515s +2.320s 17
29 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System 1m48.114s +2.919s 16
30 Oscar Piastri Prema Racing 2m09.110s +23.915s 3