Home Formula 4Italian F4 Bearman denies Montoya in first Italian F4 race at Vallelunga

Bearman denies Montoya in first Italian F4 race at Vallelunga

by Craig Woollard

Photo: ACI Sport

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Oliver Bearman won the opening Italian Formula 4 race of the weekend at Vallelunga, beating Prema’s Sebastian Montoya on a late restart.

Championship leader Bearman and Montoya were the class of the field throughout the 19-lap race, as they established an early lead to the rest of the pack.

Montoya constantly kept within range of Bearman, with the gap regularly between 0.6 and 0.9 seconds.

That was until a safety car came out towards the final third of the race after Iron Lynx pair Maya Weug and Pietro Armanni, who had picked up a penalty for contact on the opening lap, came to blows. Weug turned in on her team-mate, and both crashed hard into the barriers.

The race was restarted with six minutes remaining, and Montoya was right with Bearman. The pair went side-by-side on a couple of occasions, but Bearman was able to just about hold on to secure his third successive win.

US Racing’s Tim Tramnitz rounded out the podium after passing VAR’s Cenyu Han early in the race, while Joshua Duerksen (Mucke Motorsport) and Joshua Dufek (VAR) also got past the Chinese driver to finish fourth and fifth.

Prema’s Kirill Smal took seventh ahead of his combative team-mate Conrad Laursen and US Racing’s Vlad Lomko.

Iron Lynx’s Leonardo Fornaroli entered the race second in points but could only finish in 10th and loses that position to the returning Tramnitz.

Prema’s Charlie Wurz started in sixth on his debut but slipped down the order early on with an unspecified problem but was able to climb back up to be classified 19th of the 31 starters. Jonas Ried also hit issues after being spun around on what was a very messy opening lap, while Eron Rexhepi was the other retirement from the race.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Ollie Bearman Van Amersfoort Racing 19 laps
2 Sebastian Montoya Prema +1.277s
3 Tim Tramnitz US Racing +1.801s
4 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +3.233s
5 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +3.652s
6 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing +4.627s
7 Kirill Smal Prema +5.194s
8 Conrad Laursen Prema +5.824s
9 Vlad Lomko US Racing +6.727s
10 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +7.194s
11 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport +8.834s
12 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema +9.046s
13 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing +9.651s
14 Leonardo Bizzotto BVM Racing +10.874s
15 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport +11.512s
16 Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing +11.987s
17 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport +12.732s
18 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport +13.546s
19 Charlie Wurz Prema +13.810s
20 Erick Zuniga Mucke Motorsport +14.636s
21 Levente Revesz AKM Motorsport +15.399s
22 Jonas Ried Mucke Motorsport +15.724s
23 Kacper Sztuka AS Motorsport +16.725s
24 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport +17.114s
25 Jorge Garciarce Jenzer Motorsport +17.643s
26 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport +18.024s
27 Pedro Perino DR Formula +20.826s
28 Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport +21.744s
Ret Maya Weug Iron Lynx
Ret Pietro Armanni Iron Lynx
Ret Eron Rexhepi BVM Racing
Fastest lap: Bearman, 1m33.340s

Championship standings
1 Bearman 132   2 Tramnitz 83   3 Fornaroli 81   4 Montoya 81   5 Smal 72   6 Lomko 37   7 Duerksen 32   8 Victor Bernier 30   9 Luke Browning 27   10 Dufek 26