Home Formula 4Italian F4 Bearman chases the fastest time in second Italian F4 practice in Austria

Bearman chases the fastest time in second Italian F4 practice in Austria

by Ida Wood

Photo: Ida Wood

Ollie Bearman came out on top in a four-way battle for first place in the second Italian Formula 4 free practice session at the Red Bull Ring.

For much of the 40-minute session the fastest lap was traded between Van Amersfoort Racing’s points leader Bearman, US Racing’s Tim Tramnitz and Prema’s Sebastian Montoya.

Tramnitz was the first of the three to reach the top, laying down a 1m32.182s marker that was several seconds faster than the previous best lap set by Mucke Motorsport’s Erick Zuniga.

He improved to 1m31.819 as Montoya and Bearman upped their pace, being split by just 0.002 seconds in second and third. When Bearman set a new personal best to take second place, Montoya responded by joining Tramnitz in the 1m31s.

Joshua Dufek joined the battle for top spot before the end of the first runs, slotting into second place with a 1m31.913s before pitting.

Bearman delayed his stop and snatched back second place again, with AS Motorsport’s Kacper Sztuka also benefitting from clean air to rise to ninth place.

Most of the grid headed back out with a quarter of an hour to go of the session, and after getting his second set of tyres up to temperature Tramnitz punched in a 1m31.219s to put himself evern further ahead, with VAR’s Nikita Bedrin improving to move into second place.

Montoya then went went fastest with just seven minutes remaining, setting a 1m31.201s, but Bearman bided his time and got back ahead with a 1m31.201s.

After that he set the first sub-1m31s lap, and Bedrin claimed second from Montoya, who also improved, at the same time. Montoya’s final effort put him back into second, 0.096s short of Bearman, with Bedrin, Tramnitz and Dufek ending up in third, fourth and fifth.

Conrad Laursen was sixth fastest for Prema, and his debuting team-mate Andrea Kimi Antonelli was ninth.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Ollie Bearman Van Amersfoort Racing 1m30.965s 23
2 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m31.061s +0.096s 18
3 Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.138s +0.173s 23
4 Tim Tramnitz US Racing 1m31.219s +0.254s 17
5 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.376s +0.411s 22
6 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m31.440s +0.475s 19
7 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m31.528s +0.563s 20
8 Kirill Smal Prema 1m31.594s +0.629s 18
9 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m31.726s +0.761s 20
10 Leonardo Bizzotto BVM Racing 1m31.755s +0.790s 21
11 Francescho Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.759s +0.794s 22
12 Erick Zuniga Mucke Motorsport 1m31.774s +0.809s 20
13 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport 1m31.858s +0.893s 22
14 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.901s +0.936s 19
15 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m31.971s +1.006s 20
16 Kacper Sztuka AS Motorsport 1m31.976s +1.011s 22
17 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.999s +1.034s 22
18 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.061s +1.096s 22
19 Charlie Wurz Prema 1m32.077s +1.112s 22
20 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m32.118s +1.153s 23
21 Eron Rexhepi BVM Racing 1m32.134s +1.169s 20
22 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport 1m32.145s +1.180s 13
23 Jorge Garciarce Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.196s +1.231s 22
24 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing 1m32.212s +1.247s 20
25 Jonas Ried Mucke Motorsport 1m32.220s +1.255s 22
26 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.304s +1.339s 23
27 Pietro Armanni Iron Lynx 1m32.329s +1.364s 21
28 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport 1m32.342s +1.377s 23
29 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.378s +1.413s 22
30 Pedro Perino US Racing 1m32.478s +1.513s 17
31 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport 1m32.541s +1.576s 22
32 Levente Revesz AKM Motorsport 1m32.952s +1.987s 22