Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Saucy quickest in FREC free practice at Red Bull Ring

Saucy quickest in FREC free practice at Red Bull Ring

by Ida Wood

Photo: Ida Wood

Gregoire Saucy was fastest in a frantic opening Formula Regional European Championship free practice session at the Red Bull Ring.

Track limits violations meant laptimes were being deleted almost as soon as they were set, and the order continually changed.

G4 Racing’s Michael Belov laid down the early benchmark of a 1m27.225s, which he improved upon to stay in first place until MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto set his personal best. As would become a theme though, Colapinto’s lap was removed and Belov was back in first place until Prema’s Paul Aron broke into the 1m26s.

Colapinto briefly snuck his way into first place again before Aron posted a 1m26.517s, and just before a red flag stoppage that lasted for such a short duration that cars were still on their way back to the pits by the time the track went green again.

Aron wasn’t challenged in the 10 minutes after the restart, although R-ace GP’s Hadrien David set two laps good enough for second place that were only slightly slower. ART Grand Prix’s Saucy was for a brief moment the quickest driver too, but running wide at the penultimate corner cost him that lap.

The action heated up in the second half of the 40-minute session, although there was a brief interlude where all but R-ace’s Isack Hadjar and FA Racing’s Alexandre Bardinon pitted and Hadjar moved to the top with a 1m26.129s.

He didn’t improve thereon, but still ended FP1 in fifth as many who went quicker had their laps deleted. Belov brought himself up to first with eight-and-a-half minutes to go, then Colapinto went ahead a minute later. He lost his lap and Saucy became the fastest, but Colapinto set another personal best.

After the chequered flag fell that was also deleted, putting Saucy in first place ahead of Belov, Arden’s William Alatalo, Aron and Hadjar.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m25.735s 28
2 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m25.956s +0.221s 23
3 William Alatalo Arden 1m25.996s +0.261s 26
4 Paul Aron Prema 1m26.029s +0.294s 24
5 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m26.129s +0.394s 25
6 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.213s +0.478s 26
7 David Vidales Prema 1m26.285s +0.550s 24
8 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m26.293s +0.558s 29
9 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m26.367s +0.632s 22
10 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m26.369s +0.634s 26
11 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m26.374s +0.639s 23
12 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP 1m26.421s +0.686s 24
13 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m26.452s +0.717s 26
14 Patrik Pasma ART Grand Prix 1m26.459s +0.724s 28
15 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m26.500s +0.765s 24
16 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport 1m26.553s +0.818s 30
17 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.626s +0.891s 26
18 Gianluca Petecof KIC Motorsport 1m26.629s +0.894s 27
19 Alex Quinn Arden 1m26.635s +0.900s 19
20 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m26.653s +0.918s 23
21 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m26.732s +0.997s 23
22 Ido Cohen JD Motorsport 1m26.755s +1.020s 23
23 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m26.768s +1.033s 24
24 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP 1m26.784s +1.049s 25
25 Jose Garfias Monolite Racing 1m26.799s +1.064s 24
26 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m26.881s +1.146s 26
27 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 1m27.019s +1.284s 26
28 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m27.023s +1.288s 27
29 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP 1m27.032s +1.297s 25
30 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m27.372s +1.637s 22
31 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m27.486s +1.751s 26
32 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m27.503s +1.768s 24
33 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m27.549s +1.814s 22