Home News Barter wins, Smal provisionally in second after safety car pass

Barter wins, Smal provisionally in second after safety car pass

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4

Hugher Barter kept his slim Spanish Formula 4 title hopes going by winning the opening Navarra race from pole.

Aside from a brief challenge off the line from MP Motorsport’s Kirill Smal, Barter was mostly unchallenged despite a late safety car period.

Smal ran wide exiting turn one on the opening lap, allowing Barter’s Campos Racing team-mate Nikola Tsolov through into second place. He was gradually gapped by Barter but comfortably held his position ahead of Smal until the safety car period.

Caused by MP’s Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak beaching his car in the gravel, the safety car period was called almost two laps before the drivers actually came to follow the safety car itself on track. On the lap preceding the field catching up to the safety car, Smal passed Tsolov at the last corner and there was a swapping of places between Daniel Nogales and Valerio Rinicella. Nogales and Rinicella appeared to pass each other again, while Smal did not move back behind Tsolov either during the safety car period or on the final lap restart.

The podium ceremony went ahead with Smal in second place, but post-race a notice did come through that the safety car procedure was under investigation.

While that remains under investigation, MP’s Timoteusz Kucharczyk is classified fourth ahead of Drivex School’s Gael Julien, Rinicella and Nogales.

In eighth place was series debutant Noah Stromsted, who was one of four drivers who was penalised two seconds for repeated track limits violations.

Stromsted had a tricky race, falling from fourth to sixth in the opening corners before getting back by Julien for fifth before the end of lap one.

However he then repeatedly struggled with lock-ups, and eventually fell to seventh place. He reclaimed sixth from Rinicella on lap six of 15, then passed Julien again just before the safety car was summoned.

The penalty dropped him back to eighth behind them, with Robert de Haan and Georg Kelstrup filling the final points positions.

In addition to Inthraphuvasak’s off, Ricardo Escotto also ended up in the gravel before the safety car was summoned, and Vladislav Ryabov’s race ended in the pits.

Race result (15 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 27m01.922s
2 Kirill Smal MP Motorsport +0.708s
3 Nikola Tsolov Campos Racing +2.619s
4 Timoteusz Kucharzyck MP Motorsport +3.344s
5 Gael Julien Drivex School +4.533s
6 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +4.833s
7 Daniel Nogales Drivex School +5.395s
8 Noah Stromsted Campos Racing +5.837s
9 Robert de Haan Monlau Motorsport +6.346s
10 Georg Kelstrup Campos Racing +6.545s
11 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing +7.062s
12 Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport +7.547s
13 Manuel Espirito Santo Campos Racing +7.978s
14 Christian Ho MP Motorsport +8.717s
15 Bruno del Pino Drivex School +8.970s
16 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School +10.289s
17 Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport +10.702s
18 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +11.029s
19 Max Mayer Formula de Campeones +11.827s
20 Marcos Flack GRS +12.248s
21 Julius Dinesen Formula de Campeones +12.448s
22 Ricardo Gracia GRS +13.025s
23 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +13.648s
24 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr Campos Racing +14.107s
25 Alvaro Garcia Formula de Campeones +14.227s
26 Niels Koolen Monlau Motorsport +14.822s
27 Daniel Mavlyutov GRS +17.680s
Ret Vladislav Ryabov GRS
Ret Ricardo Escotto Cram Motorsport
Ret Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport
Fastest lap: Barter, 1m40.904s

Championship standings
1 Tsolov 286   2 Barter 180   3 Kucharczyk 156   4 Smal 101   5 Kelstrup 91   6 Zanfari 70   7 Rinicella 68   8 Jenic 64   9 Inthraphuvasak 56   10 de Haan 56