Home Featured Barter completes Magny-Cours double to extend French F4 lead

Barter completes Magny-Cours double to extend French F4 lead

by Peter Allen

Photo: FFSA / KSP Reportages

Hugh Barter took a second lights-to-flag French Formula 4 win at Magny-Cours in race three of the weekend to pull away in the championship.

Nearest rival Souta Arao stalled from third on the grid at the start and was clipped by Pierre-Alexandre Provost, ending both their races and causing a safety car.

The other Red Bull and Honda junior Yuto Nomura had his race effectively ended before it could even restart. Having already lost places on the first lap, he was hit from behind under the safety car by Pablo Sarrazin, visibly damaging his rear wing. This led him to spin in the Lycee chicane when the race did restart, before he pulled off to retire.

Further ahead, second-placed Elliott Vayron got off line in the same chicane on the restart, allowing Alessandro Giusti to get ahead but Vayron reclaimed the place on the exit of the Adelaide hairpin.

Their ongoing battle enabled Barter to escape to win by 4.4 seconds.

Lorens Lecertua was running fourth until he went off track at the start of the lap with five minutes remaining, which dropped him outside the top 10.

That helped Colombian driver Jeronimo Berrio to continue his impressive form with a fourth place finish. Edgar Pierre enjoyed his best race to-date and took fifth after pressuring Dario Cabanelas into a mistake in Lycee with two minutes to go.

Enzo Peugeot once more raced well to go from 13th to seventh ahead of Romain Andriolo, Louis Pelet and Lecertua.

Race result
Pos Driver Time
1 Hugh Barter 12 laps
2 Elliott Vayron +4.408s
3 Alessandro Giusti +5.021s
4 Jeronimo Berrio +12.322s
5 Edgar Pierre +14.782s
6 Dario Cabanelas +16.298s
7 Enzo Peugeot +17.472s
8 Romain Andriolo +18.544s
9 Louis Pelet +19.455s
10 Lorens Lecertua +19.659s
11 Mateo Villagomez +19.943s
12 Max Reis +22.228s
13 Pol Lopez +28.082s
14 Enzo Richer +28.752s
15 Valentino Mini +31.379s
16 Luciano Morano +33.124s
17 Antoine Fernande +34.451s
18 Amir Sayed +39.159s
Ret Leny Reveillere
Ret Enzo Geraci
Ret Pablo Sarrazin
Ret Yuto Nomura
Ret Souta Arao
Ret Pierre-Alexandre Provost
Fastest lap: Barter, 1m41.293s

Championship standings
 Barter 162   Arao 94   3 Giusti 92   4 Vayron 84   5 Provost 48   6 Berrio 46   7 Peugeot 44   8 Cabanelas 43   9 Nomura 40   10 Geraci 31