Home Formula 3Euroformula Vitor Baptista converts pole to victory at Paul Ricard

Vitor Baptista converts pole to victory at Paul Ricard

by Gruz David


Brazilian driver Vitor Baptista scored his maiden victory in European single-seaters in the first Euroformula Open race at Paul Ricard.

Having started first, Baptista didn’t have the best of getaways as he entered the first corner in third, only to immediately reclaim the lead as his opponents ran wide.

Alessio Rovera spent the entire race in second with a late charge on Baptista for the lead. He took the checkered flag a second behind the Brazilian.

Although he qualified eighth, championship leader Konstantin Tereshchenko quickly fought his way up to third after a series of impressive overtakes.

He finished ahead of Yu Kanamaru and Tanart Sathienthirakul, with the Japanese driver almost snatching the final podium spot on the final lap.

Yarin Stern secured sixth, followed by a quarter of RP Motorsport drivers – rookie Igor Walilko ahead of experienced teammates Damiano Fioravanti, Dzhon Simonyan and Andres Saravia.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Vitor Baptista RP Motorsport 14 laps in 28:43.083
2 Alessio Rovera BVM Racing +1.178
3 Konstantin Tereshchenko Campos Racing +15.118
4 Yu Kanamaru EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +15.273
5 Tanart Sathienthirakul Team West-Tec F3 +15.735
6 Yarin Stern Team West-Tec F3 +16.762
7 Igor Walilko RP Motorsport +20.281
8 Damiano Fioravanti RP Motorsport +20.700
9 Dzhon Simonyan RP Motorsport +28.391
10 Andres Saravia RP Motorsport +28.756
11 William Barbosa BVM Racing +29.162
12 Diego Menchaca Campos Racing +31.631
13 Henrique Baptista Campos Racing +33.524
14 Luis Michael Dorrbecker EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +38.133
15 Ahmad Al Ghanem Campos Racing +55.816
16 Antoni Ptak RP Motorsport +1:00.639
17 Jose Manuel Vilalta EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +1:01.390
18 Leonardo Pulcini DAV Racing +1:04.443*

* 10-second penalty