Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 1.6FR1.6 Nordic Aron wins, Lappalainen crowned FR1.6 Nordic champion

Aron wins, Lappalainen crowned FR1.6 Nordic champion

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: STCC

Photo: STCC

Finnish racer Joonas Lappalainen secured the Formula Renault 1.6 Nordic drivers’ title with a fourth place in race one at Mantorp Park, which was won by Ralf Aron.

Lappalainen finished comfortably ahead of chief rival Kevin Aabol and just one spot behind another contender Lukas Sundahl, which allowed him to clinch the title with a race to spare.

Out front, Aron dominated from pole, leading Scuderia Nordica teammate Oliver Soderstrom by eight seconds at the checkered flag. The latter narrowly held off Sundahl and Lappalainen, completing a 1-2 for his team.

Robert Svensson took fifth, while Paul Blomqvist led Ilmari Korpivaara in sixth.

Aabol, Pontus Fredricsson and Karl Ero completed the points-scoring top ten.

Estonian Aron will also start race two from pole due to having set the fastest lap. Korpivaara will join him on front row.

Race results
Pos. Driver Time/Gap
1 Ralf Aron 13 laps in 17:33.273
2 Oliver Soderstrom +8.357
3 Lukas Sundahl +8.652
4 Joonas Lappalainen +8.780
5 Robert Svensson +14.674
6 Paul Blomqvist +17.748
7 Ilmari Korpivaara +17.806
8 Kevin Aabol +21.425
9 Pontus Fredricsson +25.124
10 Karl Ero +39.376
11 Rasmus Ericsson +39.991
12 Robin Fredriksson +41.964
13 David Nordgren +1:28.232