Home Featured Aron secures second FREC pole in a row at Mugello

Aron secures second FREC pole in a row at Mugello

by Cian Brittle

Photo: FRECA

Paul Aron made it consecutive Formula Regional European Championship pole positions in the Sunday morning qualifying session at Mugello.

Over half the session ticked by before any representative laps were set as drivers struggled to get their tyres up to temperature.

This meant the last 10 minutes featured a flurry of attempts, before qualifying was brought to a premature end by KIC Motorsport’s Jasin Ferati, who beached his car in the gravel.

It was Aron’s team-mate Dino Beganovic who set the first lap in the 1m42s, as Prema continued its form from Saturday.

However, laptimes continued to tumble as the tyres reached their operating window, and pole changed hands six more times over the next two flying laps before it settled with Aron, the only driver to get in the 1m41s.

Gregoire Saucy, fresh from being crowned FREC champion, was just 0.080 seconds slower in second, denying Prema consecutive qualifying one-twos.

Beganovic ended up third, one of the six drivers to sit in first place across the final two laps, ahead of MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto, while Van Amersfoort Racing’s Mari Boya secured fifth.

Michael Belov only went 0.017s slower than his time in qualifying yesterday, but will start three places further back in sixth, just ahead of MP’s Kas Haverkort.

Pietro Delli Guanti briefly held pole on his fifth flying lap, but eventually found himself in eighth, 0.001s ahead of the lead R-ace GP car of Hadrien David.

Gabriel Bortoleto rounded out the top 10 for FA Racing, but there were disappointing sessions for Zane Maloney (R-ace GP) and David Vidales (Prema Powerteam) who were 16th and 20th respectively.

The two drivers in contention for the rookie title, Gabriele Mini and Isack Hadjar, will start one place apart in 12th and 13th.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Paul Aron Prema 1m41.991s 8
2 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m42.071s +0.080s 9
3 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m42.148s +0.157s 8
4 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m42.240s +0.249s 7
5 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing 1m42.265s +0.274s 8
6 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m42.276s +0.285s 8
7 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m42.327s +0.336s 8
8 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m42.378s +0.387s 8
9 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m42.379s +0.388s 9
10 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP 1m42.431s +0.440s 7
11 Alex Quinn Arden 1m42.467s +0.476s 9
12 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m42.471s +0.480s 8
13 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m42.749s +0.758s 8
14 Gianluca Petecof KIC Motorsport 1m42.796s +0.805s 7
15 William Alatalo Arden 1m42.918s +0.927s 9
16 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m43.005s +1.014s 8
17 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m43.012s +1.021s 8
18 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP 1m43.094s +1.103s 7
19 Ido Cohen JD Motorsport 1m43.099s +1.108s 7
20 David Vidales Prema 1m43.236s +1.245s 8
21 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m43.245s +1.254s 8
22 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m43.251s +1.260s 8
23 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m43.252s +1.261s 8
24 Sami Meguetounif R-ace GP 1m43.254s +1.263s 8
25 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m43.320s +1.329s 8
26 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m43.481s +1.490s 7
27 Patrik Pasma ART Grand Prix 1m43.567s +1.576s 9
28 Jose Garfias Monolite Racing 1m43.643s +1.652s 8
29 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 1m43.650s +1.659s 8
30 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m43.901s +1.910s 8
31 Arias Deukmedjian FA Racing by MP 1m44.001s +2.010s 8
32 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m44.077s +2.086s 8
33 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m44.195s +2.204s 8
34 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP 1m44.518s +2.527s 8
35 Jasin Ferati KIC Motorsport 1m44.655s +2.664s 9
36 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m45.354s +3.363s 8