Home Formula 2 Armstrong and Nissany joins DAMS for F2 post-season testing

Armstrong and Nissany joins DAMS for F2 post-season testing

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

DAMS has selected Formula 1 juniors Marcus Armstrong and Roy Nissany for the post-season Formula 2 test at Bahrain on December 8-10.

The three-day test will use the hard compound tyre, and take place on the circuit’s Grand Prix layout as used for the Bahrain Grand Prix rather than the Outer loop that debuted with F2 in this weekend’s season finale.

Ferrari Driver Academy member Armstrong finished 13th with ART Grand Prix in a tricky rookie season in F2 this year, taking two podiums in the opening two rounds then struggling to score points thereon.

Nissany meanwhile recieved the backing of Williams for his F2 return in 2020 with Trident, and fared worse than Armstrong with only two points finishes.

The two drivers who raced for DAMS this year are moving on, with Sean Gelael leaving F2 entirely and Dan Ticktum set for a test seat with Carlin. He is to announce his 2021 programme on Monday.

Ralph Boschung’s F2 return with Campos Racing in Bahrain pre-empted his place on the test entry list, and he is expected to be joined by team-mate Guilherme Samaia.

Jehan Daruvala finished the season off with his first win to secure Carlin third in the teams’ standings, and is set to remain with the British outfit for post-season testing. Marino Sato has been linked to remaining at Trident, while FIA Formula 3 Championship racer David Beckmann is also in Bahrain and may be participating in testing.

F2 post-season testing entry list
Team Driver 2020
DAMS Marcus Armstrong 13th in F2
Roy Nissany 19th in F2
Virtuosi Racing Guanyu Zhou 6th in F2
Felipe Drugovich 9th in F2
ART Grand Prix Christian Lundgaard 7th in F2
Theo Pourchaire 2nd in FIA F3
Carlin Jehan Daruvala 12th in F2
Dan Ticktum 11th in F2
Campos Racing Ralph Boschung 25th in F2
Guilherme Samaia 24th in F2
Charouz Racing System TBC
MP Motorsport TBC
HWA Racelab TBC
Prema Robert Shwartzman 4th in F2
Oscar Piastri 1st in FIA F3
Trident Marino Sato 22nd in F2
Hitech GP Juri Vips 16th in F2
Liam Lawson 5th in FIA F3