Home News Arkhangelskiy sets pace in Spanish F4 test at Barcelona

Arkhangelskiy sets pace in Spanish F4 test at Barcelona

by Ida Wood

Photo: Drivex School

Max Arkhangelskiy was frequently at the top of the times in Spanish Formula 4’s pre-season test at Barcelona this week.

Campos Racing’s drivers ran in Formula Renault 2.0 cars through the test in addition to the new Tatuus T-421 that will be raced in Spanish F4 this year, and unsurprisingly as a result they topped the timesheets.

Drivex School’s Russian driver Arkhangelisky was the top driver solely running in the T-421, running in first place in every session over the two days and ending up 0.073 seconds up on MP Motorsport’s Valerio Rinicella.

There were several unsigned drivers in the test, with MP Motorsport notably running six drivers when the series has introduced a limit of four cars for 2022. It has already signed three drivers, and in addition to that trio ran Christian Ho, Miron Pingasov and Suleiman Zanfari at Barcelona.

Campos already has its complete line-up but had Jesse Carraquedo Jr out in FR2.0 and F4 machinery, while Teo Martin Motorsport fielded former Euroformula racer Shihab Al Habsi.

The Monlau Motorsport team, which has not announced whether it intends to race this year or continue its test-only programme (predominantly with first-generation F4 cars), was in attendance with Robert De Haan and Jef Machiels. De Haan has a free seat in a European F4 series this year after winning the 2021 FEED Racing France shootout.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School 1m47.235s
2 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport 1m47.308s +0.073s
3 Robert De Haan Monlau Motorsport 1m47.604s +0.369s
4 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport 1m47.606s +0.371s
5 Jorge Campos Formula de Campeones 1m47.895s +0.660s
6 Christian Ho MP Motorsport 1m47.913s +0.678s
7 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport 1m47.968s +0.733s
8 Manuel Esperito Santo Teo Martin Motorsport 1m48.025s +0.790s
9 Tymoteusz Kucharczyk MP Motorsport 1m48.107s +0.872s
10 Bruno Del Pino Drivex School 1m48.145s +0.910s
11 Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport 1m48.212s +0.977s
12 Vladislav Ryabov GRS 1m48.237s +1.002s
13 Daniel Nogales Teo Martin Motorsport 1m48.287s +1.052s
14 Julien Gael Drivex School 1m48.306s +1.071s
15 Filip Jenic Campos Racing 1m48.346s +1.111s
16 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing 1m48.367s +1.132s
17 Ricardo Gracia GRS 1m48.369s +1.134s
18 Lucas Malek GRS 1m48.488s +1.253s
19 Alvaro Garcia Formula de Campeones 1m48.624s +1.389s
20 Shihab Al Habsi Teo Martin Motorsport 1m49.019s +1.784s
21 Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport 1m49.177s +1.942s
22 Nikola Tsolov Campos Racing
23 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr Campos Racing
24 Hugh Barter Campos Racing