Home Formula 4French F4 Arao wins race, Giusti gets title and Barter retires at Paul Ricard

Arao wins race, Giusti gets title and Barter retires at Paul Ricard

by Ida Wood

Photo: KSP Reportages

Alessandro Giusti became French Formula 4 champion with two races to spare in an eventful opening race at Paul Ricard.

Giusti started from pole ahead of title rivals Souta Arao and Hugh Barter, with Pierre-Alexandre Provost completing row two of the grid.

In a hectic start to the race, Honda junior Arao took the lead from Giusti while Barter fell all the way down the order after an incident with Elliott Vayron at the first corner and recovered up to 13th place on lap two but with his title hopes now all but expired.

One place was gained as Dario Cabanelas was given a drive-through penalty for jumping the start, and another when Valentino Mini stopped at turn five.

On lap four Barter’s title dream ended as he came to a stop at turn 12, while Arao continued to resist Giusti up front in a hope to keep his slim title ambitions going.

Arao needed Giusti not to score to stay in contention, but that wasn’t the case as the Frenchman finished 0.298 seconds behind Arao and with fastest lap to clinch the crown.

Provost finished 5.854s behind in third, while Enzo Peugeot passed Jeronimo Berrio and then Louis Pelet to take fourth place.

Vayron recovered all the way back up to eighth place from 20th, finishing ahead of Arao’s Honda stablemate Yuto Nomura.

Race result (11 laps)
Pos Driver Time
1 Souta Arao 23m33.188s
2 Alessandro Giusti +0.298s
3 Pierre-Alexandre Provost +5.854s
4 Enzo Peugeot +6.175s
5 Louis Pelet +7.591s
6 Jeronimo Berrio +9.488s
7 Romain Andriolo +14.929s
8 Elliott Vayron +18.176s
9 Yuto Nomura +18.187s
10 Max Reis +22.168s
11 Pablo Sarrazin +22.526s
12 Lorens Lecertua +23.078s
13 Edgar Pierre +24.009s
14 Enzo Richer +25.303s
15 Enzo Geraci +25.968s
16 Leny Reveillere +31.692s
17 Garrett Berry +34.837s
18 Luciano Morano +35.695s
19 Dario Cabanelas +39.613s
20 Pol Lopez +45.530s
21 Antoine Fernande +51.013s
22 Mateo Villagomez +1 lap
Ret Hugh Barter
Ret Valentino Mini
Fastest lap: Giusti, 2m07.506s

Championship standings
Giusti 271   2 Barter 218   Arao 208   4 Vayron 180   5 Peugeot 140   6 Nomura 98   7 Berrio 88   8 Provost 83   9 Cabanelas 83   10 Andriolo 74