Home Formula 4Italian F4 Antonelli wins postponed Italian F4 race two at Monza

Antonelli wins postponed Italian F4 race two at Monza

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: ACI Sport

Prema’s Kimi Andrea Antonelli claimed victory in the rescheduled second Italian Formula 4 race at Monza, which was ended with a red flag.

The Italian led the way for the whole race bar one corner and extended his championship lead to 66 points going into the last round at Mugello. His team-mate Charlie Wurz and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Martinius Stenshorne finished in second and third.

The race was initially set to take place on Sunday morning, but was called off once the cars were already on the grid due to extreme weather conditions. It was then rescheduled to run place of race three, with the latter being planned to run at Mugello.

Race two eventually began behind the safety car as the track was declared wet. However, all drivers were fitting slick tyres for a track surface that was mostly dry.

The green flag was waved at the end of lap two, and poleman Antonelli comfortably led into turn one as team-mate Rafael Camara drove around the outside of US Racing’s Alex Dunne and Stenshorne to advance from fourth to second place.

Stenshorne, who was second at the start, then dropped to fifth behind Wurz, whereas Dunne regained the place on Camara as they accelerated out of the chicane.

The safety car was out after 10 minutes, to recover the car of Cars Racing’s Andrea Frassineti. Action resumed five minutes later with Dunne attempting a move on Antonelli for the lead around the outside at the first chicane. Both drivers cut the corner and Dunne immediately gave the position back to Antonelli.

Two laps later, Camara dived into the inside of Dunne at the first chicane and the Irish ran over the inside sausage kerb, which led to both drivers visiting the gravel trap at the outside of the corner.

Wurz moved up to second place as a result, having just overtaken Stenshorne and Prema team-mate James Wharton.

The safety car returned with over nine minutes remaining on the clock to clear the cars of R-ace GP drivers Raphael Narac and Frederik Lund from the Della Roggia. Jenzer’s Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi also had to be picked up after spinning at the Ascari chicane.

The track went green again with just under two minutes to go. PHM Racing’s Taylor Barnard was the only driver to make up places at the restart among the frontrunners, passing Hadrien David for fifth place.

The red flag was shown on the last lap due to some drops of rain, moments after AKM Motorsport’s Ismail Akhmed had spun round at the Ascari chicane and ended up beached in the gravel trap.

Neither Iron Lynx’s Ivan Domingues nor AS Motorsport’s Giovanni Maschio took part in the race. Maschio was involved in a heavy crash in the lap to the grid in the morning.

Race result (11 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 28m05.572s
2 Charlie Wurz Prema +0.661s
3 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing +0.955s
4 James Wharton Prema +1.317s
5 Hadrien David R-ace GP +1.744s
6 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +1.806s
7 Alex Dunne US Racing +2.176s
8 Marcus Amand US Racing +2.389s
9 Zachary David US Racing +2.520s
10 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +2.835s
11 Arvid Lindblad Van Amersfoort Racing +3.284s
12 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing +3.377s
13 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing +3.792s
14 Valerio Rinicella AKM Motorsport +3.865s
15 Rafael Camara Prema +4.139s
16 Pedro Perino US Racing +4.952s
17 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing +5.396s
18 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing +5.673s
19 Elia Sperandio Maffi Racing +5.869s
20 Alex Partyshev Jenzer Motorsport +5.925s
21 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport +6.405s
22 William Karlsson BVM Racing +6.813s
23 Alfio Spina BVM Racing +7.325s
24 Nikhil Bohra US Racing +7.877s
25 Kim Hwarang BVM Racing +8.593s
26 Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport +9.062s
27 Ismail Akhmed AKM Motorsport +9.822s
28 Rishab Jain BWR Motorsports +10.318s
29 Niels Koolen Monlau Motorsport +10.918s
30 Francisco Soldavini Maffi Racing +11.326s
31 Maya Weug Iron Lynx +11.378s
32 Conrad Laursen Prema +11.445s
33 Ruiqu Liu AKM Motorsport +12.426s
34 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport +2 laps
35 Niko Lacorte Iron Lynx +3 laps
36 Nadhavid Bhirombhakdi Jenzer Motorsport +3 laps
37 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +3 laps
38 Frederik Lund R-ace GP +3 laps
39 Raphael Narac R-ace GP +3 laps
Ret Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Kacper Sztuka US Racing
Ret Andrea Frassineti Cars Racing
DNS Giovanni Maschio AS Motorsport
DNS Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx
Fastest lap: Dunne, 1m54.736s

Championship standings
1 Antonelli 287   2 Dunne 221   3 Camara 213   4 Wurz 165   5 Wharton 162   6 Sztuka 150   7 Stenshorne 91   8 Amand 90   9 Barnard 89   10 Laursen 81