Home Formula 4Italian F4 Antonelli tops Italian F4’s pre-event test, four drivers join grid for Misano

Antonelli tops Italian F4’s pre-event test, four drivers join grid for Misano

by Ida Wood

Prema’s Andrea Kimi Antonelli set the pace by over half a second in Italian Formula 4’s pre-event test session on Thursday at Misano.

Antonelli’s benchmark laptime, a 1m35.682s, was set at the end of the first half of the four-hour morning session, with little action taking place after that on a hot track.

Cars Racing’s Andreas Frassineti set the initial pace, before Van Amersfoort Racing duo Emmo Fittipaldi and Martinius Stenshorne then went fastest after 10 minutes of running. At the same time, BWR Motorsports’ Rishab Jain went off into the turn 13 gravel but managed to return to track without disrupting the action.

Antonelli went to the top for the first time after 12 minutes, setting a 1m37.979s to go 0.022s faster than Stenshorne. His Prema team-mate James Wharton bettered him shortly after by over half a second, with PHM Racing’s Taylor Barnard also outpacing Antonelli, before the Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 junior responded four minutes later by breaking into the 1m36s.

There was then red flags out for 15 minutes as PHM’s Jonas Ried got into trouble on track and oil was left on the asphalt on the two straights between turn six and turn 10.

Fittipaldi returned to first place with a 1m36.882s after five minutes of the track going green again, and was then pipped by US Racing’s Kacper Sztuka just after the first hour was done. Drivers had been warned on track limits throughout the morning, and Barnard and US’s Alex Dunne were shown the black flag – with BWR Motorsports’ Alfio Spina later getting the same – and given five-minute pitlane penalties for repeated track limits violations.

Marcus Amand, the third US driver, lowered the pace by 0.630s and sat on top until Antonelli went fastest again after one-and-a-half hours. The 1m36.205s lap he set stood as the fastest until his own improvement.

There was a second stoppage late on as Jenzer Motorsport’s Ethan Ischer faced an issue. This weekend he will have Valentin Kluss joining him in the team’s line-up, while former junior karter Manuel Quondamcarlo makes his first race appearance with AS Motorsport and Kim Hwarang and William Karlsson debut at BVM Racing.

Reigning Formula Nordic champion Karlsson was supposed to be racing in the now-cancelled ACCR F4 season opener at the Red Bull Ring this weekend, but his Renauer Motorsport team had not taken delivery of its cars yet.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m35.682s 53
2 Alex Dunne US Racing 1m36.218s +0.536s 56
3 Marcus Amand US Racing 1m36.249s +0.567s 59
4 Rafael Camara Prema 1m36.415s +0.733s 53
5 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m36.435s +0.753s 58
6 Charlie Wurz Prema 1m36.462s +0.780s 52
7 James Wharton Prema 1m36.476s +0.794s 54
8 Nikhil Bohra US Racing 1m36.537s +0.855s 43
9 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 1m36.631s +0.949s 69
10 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.636s +0.954s 57
11 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.642s +0.960s 55
12 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx 1m36.846s +1.164s 60
13 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m36.890s +1.208s 56
14 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m36.916s +1.234s 54
15 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m36.965s +1.283s 50
16 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.984s +1.302s 59
17 Alfio Spina BWR Motorsports 1m36.999s +1.317s 69
18 Marcos Flack R-ace GP 1m37.025s +1.343s 62
19 Niko Lacorte Cetilar Racing 1m37.065s +1.383s 62
20 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport 1m37.139s +1.457s 53
21 Andrea Frassineti Cars Racing 1m37.342s +1.660s 61
22 Frederik Lund R-ace GP 1m37.356s +1.674s 57
23 Arias Deukmedjian Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.385s +1.703s 54
24 Pedro Clerot AKM Motorsport 1m37.475s +1.793s 69
25 Pedro Perino US Racing 1m37.480s +1.798s 57
26 Kim Hwarang BVM Racing 1m37.536s +1.854s 55
27 Victoria Blokhina PHM Racing 1m37.537s +1.855s 49
28 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.559s +1.877s 47
29 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m37.561s +1.879s 47
30 Alex Partyshev Jenzer Motorsport 1m37.604s +1.922s 52
31 William Karlsson BVM Racing 1m37.693s +2.011s 50
32 Jonas Ried PHM Racing 1m38.014s +2.332s 9
33 Elia Sperandio Maffi Racing 1m38.213s +2.531s 50
34 Ismoilkhuja Akhmedkhodjaev AKM Motorsport 1m38.936s +3.254s 64
35 Giovanni Maschio AS Motorsport 1m39.128s +3.446s 54
36 Manuel Quondamcarlo AS Motorsport 1m39.375s +3.693s 46
37 Rishab Jain BWR Motorsports 1m40.319s +4.637s 30