Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Antonelli heads Prema clean sweep in ADAC F4 practice at Spa

Antonelli heads Prema clean sweep in ADAC F4 practice at Spa

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: Prema

Prema took a clean sweep of the top five positions in Friday’s free practice for the opening round of the ADAC Formula 4 season at Spa-Francorchamps.

Andrea Kimi Antonelli led the way in both 30-minute sessions, setting the fastest time of the day, a 2m22.434s, in the second session.

Antonelli’s best lap was 0.367 seconds faster than team-mate Rafael Camara, who was second both times and was just 0.031s up on Charlie Wurz.

The remaining Prema entries of James Wharton and Conrad Laursen completed the top five, with Marcos Flack the fastest non-Prema runner in sixth place for R-ace GP.

The second session featured limited running in the first 12 minutes, with Marcus Amand setting the initial pace in his first competitive outing with US Racing.

Once on track, the Prema runners quickly established themselves at the front of the order, with Camara, Antonelli and then Wurz each taking a turn at the top of the timing screen with ten 10 remaining.

Antonelli was fastest in sectors two and three to a then post a benchmark which proved unbeatable in the final minutes.

The top three mirrored the positions from the slightly slower FP1. Antonelli again came out on top with a fastest lap of 2m22.930s, just 0.023s ahead of Camara.

Giving notice of his later improvement, Antonelli had been on course to improve his best with his final lap of the session. He had been 0.226s up on his own benchmark after two sectors before aborting the lap and returning to the pits.

PHM Racing’s Taylor Barnard was the fastest non-Prema driver in FP1 in fourth place. He was also first of the leading runners not to improve in the afternoon, and ended practice seventh overall.

His team-mate Nikita Bedrin was only 13th fastest after struggling to get a quick lap together in either session.

Chris Rosenkranz, making his debut for BWR Motorsport, brought out FP1’s only red flag following an incident at Raidillon. As a result, he took no further part in FP1 but was back on track for FP2, although he was the slowest of the 21 runners.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 2m22.434s 15
2 Rafael Camara Prema 2m22.801s +0.367s 14
3 Charlie Wurz Prema 2m22.832s +0.398s 14
4 James Wharton Prema 2m22.937s +0.503s 15
5 Conrad Laursen Prema 2m23.079s +0.645s 15
6 Marcos Flack R-ace GP 2m23.086s +0.652s 19
7 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 2m23.150s +0.716s 16
8 Marcus Amand US Racing 2m23.214s +0.780s 19
9 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 2m23.455s +1.021s 13
10 Frederik Lund R-ace GP 2m23.560s +1.126s 18
11 Nikhil Bohra US Racing 2m23.674s +1.240s 16
12 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 2m23.745s +1.311s 21
13 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 2m23.811s +1.377s 17
14 Jonas Ried PHM Racing 2m23.854s +1.420s 17
15 Alfio Spina BWR Motorsports 2m23.945s +1.511s 19
17 Pedro Perino US Racing 2m24.151s +1.717s 18
17 Rasmus Joutsimies Jenzer Motorsport 2m24.252s +1.818s 19
18 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Jenzer Motorsport 2m24.409s +1.975s 19
19 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 2m24.735s +2.301s 19
20 Michael Sauter Sauter Engineering+Design 2m25.228s +2.794s 19
21 Chris Rosenkranz BWR Motorsports 2m25.604s +3.170s 11