Home Featured Antonelli completes perfect Vallelunga weekend in Italian F4

Antonelli completes perfect Vallelunga weekend in Italian F4

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Andrea Kimi Antonelli made it three wins, three poles and three fastest laps from three Italian Formula 4 races at Vallelunga.

The Prema driver’s job in race three was similar to the previous two as he had to resist challenges from his team-mates on the opening lap and thereon was in control up front for his eighth victory of the year.

It only took until lap two of the race before Antonelli’s chief title rival Rafael Camara became preoccupied with defending second place from team-mate Charlie Wurz rather than attacking the leader, anf the result was Antonelli settled into a pace-setting rhythm up front to win by 1.207 seconds.

Camara shook off Wurz, who was also then unrivalled in third place as US Racing team-mates Alex Dunne and Marcus Amand collided and ended their races when they could have challenged for the podium.

James Wharton snuck by them during their squabble and he completed a Prema 1-2-3-4 with PHM Racing’s Taylor Barnard best of the rest in fifth.

Kacper Sztuka and Nikhil Bohra ended up being US’s highest placed drivers in sixth and seventh, and Iron Lynx’s Maya Weug scored her first points of the weekend in eighth.

Conrad Laursen and Nikita Bedrin had a fight early on that ended sourly but did not force the pair into retirement. Laursen was able to finish just outside of the points in 11th, while Bedrin lost his front wing but pitted and was able to finish 19th.

Also having a clash were Van Amersfoort Racing’s Emmo Fittipaldi and BWR Motorsport’s Alfio Spina, with Fittipaldi breaking his front wing against the rear-left of tyre of Spina which punctured and caused a safety car period as Spina stopped in the gravel.

The final incident was between Ismail Akhmed and Georgios Markogiannis, and Akhmed retired towards the end with a damaged car.

Race result (19 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 31m39.657s
2 Rafael Camara Prema +1.207s
3 Charlie Wurz Prema +4.939s
4 James Wharton Prema +6.982s
5 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +8.351s
6 Kacper Sztuka US Racing +10.599s
7 Nikhil Bohra US Racing +11.398s
8 Maya Weug Iron Lynx +12.535s
9 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing +15.892s
10 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx +17.722s
11 Conrad Laursen Prema +18.215s
12 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +18.628s
13 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing +19.115s
14 Valerio Rinicella AKM Motorsport +20.180s
15 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport +21.791s
16 William Karlsson BVM Racing +23.267s
17 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing +24.037s
18 Frederik Lund R-ace GP +26.550s
19 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +27.715s
20 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport +29.635s
21 Elio Sperandio Maffi Racing +30.186s
22 Rishab Jain BWR Motorsports +31.656s
23 Georgios Markogiannias Cram Motorsport +34.221s
24 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing +34.990s
25 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing +35.561s
26 Andrea Frassineti Cars Racing +37.167s
27 Nelson Neto Cram Motorsport +38.726s
28 Manuel Quondomcarlo AS Motorsport +38.819s
29 Kim Hwarang BVM Racing +45.152s
30 Giovanni Maschio AS Motorsport +46.799s
Ret Ismail Akhmed AKM Motorsport
Ret Nicholas Monteiro Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Pedro Perino US Racing
Ret Adam Fitzgerald R-ace GP
Ret Marcus Amand US Racing
Ret Alex Dunne US Racing
Ret Alfio Spina BWR Motorsports
Fastest lap: Antonelli, 1m35.199s

Championship standings
Antonelli 219   2 Camara 183   3 Dunne 132   4 Wharton 112   5 Wurz 104   6 Sztuka 88   7 Amand 83   8 Barnard 69   9 Laursen 56   10 Bedrin 54