Home Formula 4Italian F4 Antonelli and Camara top Italian F4 qualifying sessions in Austria

Antonelli and Camara top Italian F4 qualifying sessions in Austria

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Prema’s drivers set the pace in Italian Formula 4 qualifying at the Red Bull Ring, as the order was set for the weekend’s expanded schedule of four races.

The capacity 40-car entry list was split into two groups, with each group getting their own qualifying session instead of the usual format of everyone contesting two sessions.

Points leader Andrea Kimi Antonelli set the pace early on in Q1 ahead of Prema team-mates Conrad Laursen, Ugo Ugochukwu and Charlie Wurz.

McLaren junior Ugochukwu, making his series debut on a track he has tested at multiple times previously, then came to the fore by a slim margin and sat at the top of the timesheet until late on as Antonelli’s last lap put him ahead by 0.049 seconds.

US Racing’s Alex Dunne demoted Laursen to fourth, and new BVM Racing signing Alfio Spina (previously of BWR Motorsports) was fifth fastest. Iron Lynx’s Ivan Domingues was the last driver within a second of the pace in sixth.

Red Bull junior Arvid Lindblad (Van Amersfoort Racing) and Francisco Soldavini (Maffi Racing) were 15th and 19th in their first qualifying session in car racing.

Prema also set the pace in Q2, which like the earlier session took place in wet and foggy conditions, and it was Rafael Camara who ended the session at the top of the times.

US Racing’s Kacper Sztuka was second fastest, 0.170 seconds slower than Camara, and BWR’s Taylor Barnard was third.

His team-mate Rishab Jain caused an early red flag, and there was then a second stoppage to the session that brought it to an end a minute-and-a-half early.

Niko Lacorte, driving for the Iron Lynx-supported Cetilar Racing team, was seventh fastest on his debut.

The qualifying results will be taken to set the grids for three qualifying races this weekend.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Pace Pos Driver Team Pace
Q1 Q2
1 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m44.800s 1 Rafael Camara Prema 1m45.743s
2 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema +0.049s 2 Kacper Sztuka US Racing +0.170s
3 Alex Dunne US Racing +0.790s 3 Taylor Barnard BWR Motorsports +0.560s
4 Conrad Laursen Prema +0.865s 4 James Wharton Prema +0.606s
5 Alfio Spina BVM Racing +0.893s 5 Maya Weug Iron Lynx +0.614s
6 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx +0.947s 6 Nikhil Bohra US Racing +1.019s
7 Charlie Wurz Prema +1.100s 7 Niko Lacorte Cetilar Racing +1.341s
8 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing +1.551s 8 Zachary David US Racing +1.500s
9 Pedro Perino US Racing +1.687s 9 Valerio Rinicella AKM Motorsport +2.090s
10 William Karlsson BVM Racing +1.700s 10 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing +2.320s
11 Marcus Amand US Racing +1.746s 11 Alex Partyshev Jenzer Motorsport +2.413s
12 Adam Fitzgerald R-ace GP +1.954s 12 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +2.622s
13 Kim Hwarang BVM Racing +1.972s 13 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing +2.734s
14 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport +2.044s 14 Frederik Lund R-ace GP +2.795s
15 Arvid Lindblad Van Amersfoort Racing +2.089s 15 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport +2.874s
16 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing +2.264s 16 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +3.403s
17 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing +2.643s 17 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport +3.441s
18 Giovanni Maschio AS Motorsport +3.890s 18 Andrea Frassineti Cars Automobili +3.856s
19 Francisco Soldavini Maffi Racing +4.280s 19 Elia Sperandio Maffi Racing +7.706s
20 Ismail Akhmed AKM Motorsport +5.551s 20 Rishab Jain BWR Motorsports no time