Home Featured Smolyar on pole, Hadjar crashes out of qualifying for FIA F3 finale

Smolyar on pole, Hadjar crashes out of qualifying for FIA F3 finale

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

MP Motorsport’s Alexander Smolyar claimed his second pole of the season for the FIA Formula 3 finale at Monza, with six of the seven title contenders qualifying in the top eight.

Trident’s Roman Stanek sat in first place, 0.450 seconds ahead of Hitech GP’s Isack Hadjar, after everyone had completed their first lap.

A second timed lap left all three Trident cars in the top three, with Stanek leading Jonny Edgar, who had had his previous laptime deleted for exceeding track limits, and Zane Maloney.

Drivers would still go for a third lap on the same set of tyres, and Prema’s Ollie Bearman rose to second place, 0.099s off the top.

Red flags were waved with just over 15 minutes remaining to go after Hadjar – second in the standings – ran wide at Parabolica and lost control of his car as its rear touched the gravel on the outside of the corner. He hit the barriers, damaging the rear of the car and putting the Red Bull junior – who was eighth on the timesheet at that point – out of the session having just set the fastest sector two of anyone.

Qualifying resumed eight minutes later, but most drivers wouldn’t head back out until the last five minutes.

Smolyar made the most of a slipstream from team-mate Caio Collet to set a 1m37.559s which would be good enough for pole.

Maloney and Stanek, who benefitted from Edgar’s tow in their last attempt, will line up second and third in Sunday’s feature race.

Only a few drivers could improve in their second lap of the second set of tyres as yellow flags were out at the first chicane as Campos Racing’s Hunter Yeany went straight into the wall after riding the sausage kerb at the inside of turn two.

ART Grand Prix’s Victor Martins was among those who bettered their laptimes, concluding the session in fourth place just ahead of title rivals Arthur Leclerc and Bearman.

Jenzer Motorsport’s William Alatalo qualified a personal-best seventh, and Campos’s Pepe Marti had his best F3 qualifying in 11th. He will start Saturday’s sprint race second on the reversed grid alongside Collet, who was 12th fastest.

As a consequence of his accident, Hadjar will start both races down in 16th position.

The Trident team is set to be investigated by stewards due to a pitlane infringement.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport 1m37.559s 12
2 Zane Maloney Trident 1m37.606s +0.047s 11
3 Roman Stanek Trident 1m37.750s +0.191s 11
4 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m37.774s +0.215s 12
5 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m37.945s +0.386s 12
6 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m37.960s +0.401s 11
7 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m38.023s +0.464s 11
8 Jak Crawford Prema 1m38.031s +0.472s 12
9 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m38.035s +0.476s 12
10 Jonny Edgar Trident 1m38.109s +0.550s 11
11 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m38.182s +0.623s 12
12 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m38.224s +0.665s 12
13 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 1m38.283s +0.724s 11
14 Kaylen Frederick Hitech GP 1m38.444s +0.885s 11
15 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m38.488s +0.929s 12
16 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m38.498s +0.939s 6
17 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m38.500s +0.941s 11
18 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m38.673s +1.114s 11
19 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1n38.682s +1.123s 11
20 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 1m38.814s +1.255s 12
21 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m38.866s +1.307s 11
22 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m38.915s +1.356s 11
23 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing 1m39.105s +1.546s 10
24 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1m39.122s +1,563s 12
25 Enzo Trulli Carlin 1m39.162s +1.603s 13
26 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m39.648s +2.089s 12
27 Nazim Azman Hitech GP 1m39.800s +2.241s 11
28 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 1m40.008s +2.449s 10
29 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 1m40.317s +2.758s 11
30 Alessandro Famularo Charouz Racing System 1m40.816s +3.301s 14