Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Alonso protege Bortoleto gets first FREC pole at Barcelona

Alonso protege Bortoleto gets first FREC pole at Barcelona

by Ida Wood

Photo: Diederik van der Laan / DPPA

Fernando Alonso protege Gabriel Bortoleto claimed his first Formula Regional European Championship pole in qualifying for race two at Barcelona.

Bortoleto ran in Group B, which went on track first, and as almost all of the group went out together there was lots of jostling before flying laps even began.

FA Racing’s Francesco Braschi and Nicolas Baptiste headed out later and benefited from clear air to set the pace.

Even later than them to leave the pits was R-ace GP’s Hadrien David, and his second lap put him in second place. The field started to spread out for the third laps, and R-ace’s Bortoleto went quickest ahead of Joshua Duerksen and Gabriele Mini.

Race Performance Motorsport’s Owen Tangavelou then went second fastest, with David shuffled all the way down to 15th before he crossed the line and set a new benchmark ahead of team-mate Lorenzo Fluxa, who he was providing a tow to.

Only Pietro Armanni improved on the fourth laps, then there was a flurry of personal bests next time by with Bortoleto and Tangavelou returning to the top two spots ahead of David, Mini and Fluxa.

The battle to top the group came down to the final lap, and Bortoleto improved by a tenth of a second to top the group ahead of David and non-improver Tangavelou. Duerksen and Mini were fourth and fifth fastest.

G4 Racing’s Axel Gnos was first to set a lap in Group A, but the early pacesetter was Prema’s Amna Al Qubaisi ahead of ART Grand Prix’s Laurens van Hoepen.

Al Qubaisi soon fell to the bottom of the timesheet, with MP Motorsport’s Dilano van’t Hoff going fastest on the third laps until FA Racing’s Victor Bernier used clear to go to the top.

Van Amersfoort Racing had a similar strategy and Levente Revesz briefly went second fastest. Bernier’s benchmark stood until the final laps, with many drivers cooling their tyres before a final attack, and Prema’s Paul Aron went fastest before R-P-M’s Pierre-Louis Chovet went even quicker.

His 1m40.599s lap was 0.067 seconds slower than Bortoleto’s best, meaning the Group A runners will all line up in the even-placed positions on the race two grid, with Chovet in second place on the front row.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m40.532s
2 Pierre-Louis Chovet R-P-M 1m40.599s
3 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m40.688s
4 Paul Aron Prema 1m40.634s
5 Owen Tangavelou R-P-M 1m40.795s
6 Kas Haverkort VAR 1m40.634s
7 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m40.960s
8 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m40.647s
9 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m40.971s
10 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m40.653s
11 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m41.002s
12 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m40.766s
13 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m41.082s
14 Joshua Dufek VAR 1m40.803s
15 Francesco Braschi FA Racing by MP 1m41.135s
16 Levente Revesz VAR 1m40.819s
17 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m41.171s
18 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m40.910s
19 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m41.233s
20 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m40.923s
21 Noel Leon Arden 1m41.399s
22 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m41.184s
23 Nicolas Bapsiste FA Racing by MP 1m41.431s
24 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m41.260s
25 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m41.689s
26 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m41.437s
27 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m41.691s
28 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 1m41.497s
29 Esteban Masson ART Grand Prix 1m41.740s
30 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m41.523s
31 Sebastian Ogaard KIC Motorsport 1m41.815s
32 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m41.793s
33 Nicola Marinangeli Monolite Racing 1m42.444s
34 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m42.261s
35 Amna Al Qubaisi Prema 1m45.236s