Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Aitken grabs Formula Renault 2.0 Alps title as Barnicoat inherits win

Aitken grabs Formula Renault 2.0 Alps title as Barnicoat inherits win

by Peter Allen
Jack Aitken

Photo: Roberto Piccinini

Jack Aitken claimed the 2015 Formula Renault 2.0 Alps title in the final race at Jerez, finishing third from 10th on the grid and claiming maximum points as Ben Barnicoat inherited the outright win.

As the first finisher of the Alps regulars behind three wildcard entrants, Aitken overturned the five-point deficit he had to rival, compatriot and team-mate Jake Hughes, for whom a drive from 19th to ninth and third among the scorers was not enough.

The British Koiranen duo had ended up down the order on the grid after a red flags interrupted qualifying and prevented them from lodging a competitive time.

Aitken gained a couple of places on the first lap to finish it eighth, though still third among the Alps scorers with Matevos Isaakyan and Thiago Vivacqua up the road.

Hughes made better progress in the opening laps to climb to 14th overall and fifth among the scorers.

That would have put him equal on points with Aitken, who would then have been champion on countback.

Aitken ultimately controlled his own destiny though, and he moved up past Vivacqua and into sixth overall.

Hughes continued to move forward and past James Allen for 11th overall and fourth among the scorers, but Aitken was soon on course for 25 points when Isaakyan fell out of fourth and down to 10th.

Hughes was eventually able to get to ninth past the SMP Racing-backed trio of Isaakyan, Alexey Korneev and Nikita Troitskiy, but not even beating fifth-placed Vivacqua to the 18 points would have been enough to stop Aitken.

Up front, Croatian racer Martin Kodric led Fortec team-mate Barnicoat from pole position until chequered flag for what would have been his maiden car racing victory.

However, a 10-second penalty for Kodric relegated him to fourth and gave victory to Barnicoat ahead of Anthoine Hubert and Aitken.

All three return to Jerez next weekend for the deciding Eurocup round with a chance of winning the title, 29, 15 and seven points respectively adrift of joint leaders Louis Deletraz and Kevin Jorg, who have not had the benefit of racing at Jerez this weekend.

Max Defourny was fifth ahead of Vivacqua, Simon Gachet and Jehan Daruvala.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports 16 laps in 27:31.532
2 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +3.591
3 Jack Aitken Koiranen GP +4.267
4 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports +9.017
5 Max Defourny Koiranen GP +9.831
6 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport +12.578
7 Simon Gachet Tech 1 Racing +13.000
8 Jehan Daruvala Fortec Motorsports +19.143
9 Jake Hughes Koiranen GP +19.819
10 Nikita Troitskiy GSK Grand Prix +25.379
11 Alexey Korneev JD Motorsport +25.747
12 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport +26.548
13 James Allen ARTA Engineering +27.212
14 Hugo De Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing +27.496
15 Stefan Riener Fortec Motorsports +27.758
16 Danylo Pronenko BVM Racing +33.354
17 Travis J Fischer Cram Motorsport +38.799
18 Riccardo Cazzaniga GSK Grand Prix +39.602
19 Bruno Baptista Koiranen GP +41.856
20 Daniele Cazzaniga GSK Grand Prix +44.238
21 Matteo Ferrer Cram Motorsport +47.406
22 Amaury Richard ARTA Engineering +1 lap
23 Vasily Romanov Cram Motorsport +10 laps