Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Aitken claims second Spielberg pole, Koiranen lock out top four

Aitken claims second Spielberg pole, Koiranen lock out top four

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Formula Renault 2.0 Alps points leader Jack Aitken has taken his third pole of the season in Sunday qualifying at Spielberg.

Having reigned supreme on the Austrian track in Saturday’s wet conditions, the Brit picked up where he left off with an early lead in this session.

Although he improved lap after lap, his teammates Jake Hughes and Stefan Riener were usually not far behind, the latter being the only other driver to top the timesheets during the 15-minute run.

But it was Aitken who eventually prevailed, increasing his lead at the checkered flag, with Hughes improving to take the second front row spot from local driver Riener.

While Koiranen had all six of their drivers ahead of the rest of the field in the closing minutes, they eventually had to do with a lockout of the two front rows, with Philip Hamprecht also overtaking Riener to claim third.

Thiago Vivacqua led the rest of the field, recording his personal best result in Formula Renault 2.0 qualifying in fifth. Koiranen’s Anton De Pasquale took sixth, with Vasily Romanov missing out on the spot by just 0.001s.

Danyil Pronenko, Bruno Baptista and Amaury Richard completed the top ten, while last year’s Spielberg double winner Matevos Isaakyan was only 12th.

Qualifying results
Pos. Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jack Aitken Koiranen GP 1:30.398 9
2 Jake Hughes Koiranen GP 1:30.632 0.234 9
3 Philip Hamprecht Koiranen GP 1:30.819 0.421 10
4 Stefan Riener Koiranen GP 1:30.869 0.471 10
5 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport 1:30.987 0.589 9
6 Anton De Pasquale Koiranen GP 1:31.142 0.744 10
7 Vasily Romanov Cram Motorsport 1:31.143 0.745 10
8 Danyil Pronenko BVM Racing 1:31.530 1.132 10
9 Bruno Baptista Koiranen GP 1:31.538 1.140 10
10 Amaury Richard ARTA Engineering 1:31.633 1.235 10
11 Matteo Ferrer Cram Motorsport 1:31.727 1.329 10
12 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport 1:31.820 1.422 9
13 Denis Bulatov GSK Grand Prix 1:32.054 1.656 10
14 TJ Fischer Cram Motorsport 1:32.430 2.032 10
15 Daniele Cazzaniga GSK Grand Prix 1:32.538 2.140 10
16 James Allen ARTA Engineering 1:32.752 2.354 7