Home Formula 4British F4 Abbi Pulling becomes a British F4 race-winner at Brands Hatch

Abbi Pulling becomes a British F4 race-winner at Brands Hatch

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: British F4

Abbi Pulling led from lights to flag to take her first British Formula 4 victory in the reversed-grid race on Brands Hatch’s Indy layout.

The win came a week after she picked up a double victory in the all-female F1 Academy championship in Miami.

As in the opening race at Brands Hatch, the safety car featured heavily. Pulling started on pole and was battling immediately to maintain the lead, while further down the field Kai Daryanani was in a fight that led to contact and going into the barriers at Druids. Maxwell Dodds went off into the gravel at Paddock Hill Bend but was able to recover, while Alex Ninovic and Reza Seewooruthun picked up damage and pitted at the end of lap one for repairs as the safety car came out.

Jack Sherwood and Leo Robinson had got into second and third before racing was neutralised, and when the restart took place there was 11 minutes left on the race clock. Pulling got a good getaway, and once she had escaped her pursuers she set the fastest lap then managed her tyres to take the win by 5.534 seconds.

Robinson kept Sherwood under pressure for most of the race, but came under attack from Zack Scoular late on. Sherwood was able to break away briefly, but Robinson reeled him back in to finish just 0.2s behind and take his first podium.

Scoular finished fourth, ahead of title contender James Higgins and August Raber.

Mika Abrahams and Deagen Fairclough both made up some positions on the opening lap, but struggled to continue moving forwards from their midfield starting positions on the reversed grid. Abrahams finished seventh, with points leader Fairclough and Rowan Campbell-Pilling close behind.

Race results (22 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Abbi Pulling Rodin Motorsport 20m00.294s
2 Jack Sherwood Rodin Motorsport +5.534s
3 Leo Robinson JHR Developments +5.775s
4 Zack Scoular Xcel Motorsport +6.048s
5 James Higgins Rodin Motorsport +6.867s
6 August Raber Xcel Motorsport +7.825s
7 Mika Abrahams Hitech GP +8.423s
8 Deagen Fairclough Hitech GP +8.829s
9 Rowan Campbell-Pilling Argenti Motorsport +9.299s
10 Martin Molnar Virtuosi Racing +10.095s
11 Joel Bergstrom JHR Developments +10.570s
12 Bart Harrison Chris Dittmann Racing +10.946s
13 Ella Lloyd JHR Developments +13.566s
14 Yuanpu Cui Argenti Motorsport +13.790s
15 Yuhao Fu Virtuosi Racing +14.920s
16 Chloe Chong JHR Developments +15.377s
17 Alex Berg Fortec Motorsports +15.754s
18 Maxwell Dodds Virtuosi Racing +16.403s
19 Alex Ninovic Rodin Motorsport +16.744s
20 Reza Seewooruthun Hitech GP +16.923s
21 Nina Pothof Fortec Motorsports +19.100s
Ret Kai Daryanani Fortec Motorsports
Fastest lap: Pulling, 45.794s

Championship standings
1 Fairclough 75   2 Higgins 49   3 Ninovic 48   4 Sherwood 40   5 Pulling 28   6 Abrahams 24   7 Seewooruthun 22   8 Campbell-Pilling 19   9 Cui 16   10 Harrison 9