Home Featured Ferrari’s Wharton ends F4 UAE season with Abu Dhabi win

Ferrari’s Wharton ends F4 UAE season with Abu Dhabi win

by Craig Woollard

Photo: F4 UAE

Ferrari junior James Wharton concluded the Formula 4 United Arab Emirates season with his fourth victory in a commanding performance at Yas Marina Circuit, as Rafael Camara hit trouble again.

There was drama before the race even got underway, as Ricardo Escotto caused an aborted start after moving on the grid during the start sequence.

This earned him a drive-through penalty, while Jonas Ried picked up a five-second penalty for passing the control line after the start was called off.

The race became a 22-minute contest thereon, and reversed-grid polesitter Christian Ho had a shocker of an opening lap and dropped right down the field and pitting at the end of lap two.

This left 3Y Technology by R-ace GP’s Nikhil Bohra in the lead, and Wharton, who started eighth, began picking off the cars between him and Bohra.

With 15 minutes to go, Wharton got past Miron Pingasov for second and then carved considerably into Bohra’s lead.

It was just under a second just past the halfway point but, by the next lap, Wharton had got past and took a lead he wouldn’t relinquish to add a victory to the three he took in the first Dubai round.

Wharton’s team-mate Conrad Laursen climbed from seventh to take second, while Hitech GP’s Alex Dunne made a late move on Pingasov to round out the podium. Early leader Bohra eventually took fifth, ahead of PHM Racing’s Nikita Bedrin, who started at the very back.

Bedrin had climbed 12 places by the end of lap on, then overhauled the likes of new champion Charlie Wurz to finish in sixth, although he cut the track a few times in the process.

Suleiman Zanfari was seventh ahead of Wurz, while Tasanapol Inthrapuvasak and Taylor Barnard rounded out the top 10. Ried finished 13th on the road before his penalty.

Camara was involved in a three-car incident at turn five between himself, Ivan Domingues and Vladislav Ryabov while the trio battling outside of the points, ruining each of their races.

Robert De Haan also had issues and finished last, while Anshul Gandhi was eliminated by contact with Jef Machiels.

Race results (12 laps)

Pos Driver Team Gap
1 James Wharton Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema
2 Conrad Laursen Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +0.922s
3 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +4.292s
4 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +5.127ss
5 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +6.696s
6 Nikhil Bohra 3Y by R-ace GP +7.577s
7 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +8.128s
8 Charlie Wurz Prema +8.308s
9 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport +9.380s
10 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +9.461s
11 Martinius Stenshorne 3Y by R-ace GP +10.119s
12 Aiden Neate Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +14.311s
13 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +15.616s
14 Jamie Day Xcel Motorsport +18.660s
15 Sohil Shah Mumbai Falcons by Xcel +21.052s
16 Max Arkhangelskiy 3Y by R-ace GP +23.015s
17 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Xcel Motorsport +24.183s
18 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +25.270s
19 Michael Shin JHR Developments +26.528s
20 Kyle Kumaran Mumbai Falcons by Xcel +35.071s
21 Jef Machiels Pinnacle Motorsport +44.517s
22 Ismoilkhuja Akhmedkhodjaev Xcel Motorsport +46.133s
23 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +46.570s
24 Rafael Camara Prema +48.507s
25 Ricardo Escotto Cram-Hitech GP +50.212s
26 Rober De Haan Pinnacle Motorsport +1m11.534s
Ret Anshul Gandhi Cram-Hitech GP
Ret Ivan Domingues Xcel Motorsport
Ret Christian Ho MP Motorsport
Fastest lap: Camara, 1m55.130s

Championship standings
1 Wurz 255   2 Camara 209   3 Neate 199   4 Bedrin 198   5 Wharton 168   6 Dunne 168   7 Inthraphuvasak 163   8 Andrea Kimi Antonelli 117   9 Barnard 84   10 Stenshorne 71