Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC 40-car entry list for the Formula Renault NEC season

40-car entry list for the Formula Renault NEC season

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Formula Renault NEC have announced a preliminary lineup of 40 registered cars for the 2013 season of the category.

Among the previously announced drivers, a multitude of new faces were announced to be joining the series this year.

Team Inter Europol Competition will be continuing in the category, running a single car for Polish driver Jakub Smiechowski, who has been racing in the category since 2010 (with a best season finish of seventh, achieved in his debut year).

Two cars will be entered in the category by German team SL Formula, with them retaining David Freiburghaus for a second year and picking up another Swiss driver Simon Stoller.

The season will also see a handful of new teams join the series. Keo Racing will field two cars, with 16-year-old Erik Johansson, the winner of 2012’s Formula Monza, signed on to race in one of them. Italian team JD Racing will be returning to the category with two cars, piloted by ADAC Formel Masters graduate Jakub Dalewski and Formula Abarth graduate Juan Branger. British newcomer JTR Racing as well as Finnish team PositionOne have both confirmed one-car entries in the championship, both yet to reveal their lineups.

18-year-old Corinna Kamper will continue in the category for a second year, with the team that’ll be running her remaining unannounced. Finally, the entry list confirms that Fortec’s Eurocup lineup of current NEC champion Jake Dennis, Ed Jones and Mikko Pakari will also be entered in the championship, most likely contesting a part-time campaign as Fortec’s already running eight cars for the series.

The announcement puts the NEC entry list close to completion, with three drivers and one team entry still unknown.

Entry list

No. Driver Nat. Team
1 Steijn Schothorst NED Josef Kaufmann Racing
2 Gustav Malja SWE Josef Kaufmann Racing
3 Oscar Tunjo COL Josef Kaufmann Racing
4 Dennis Olsen NOR Josef Kaufmann Racing
5 Louis Deletraz SUI Josef Kaufmann Racing
6 Smiechowski POL Euro Interpol
7 Jake Dennis GBR Fortec Motorsport
8 Mikko Pakari FIN Fortec Motorsport
9 Ed Jones GBR Fortec Motorsport
10 David Freiburghaus SUI SL Formula
11 Simon Stoller SUI SL Formula
14 Alexander Baron FRA ART Junior
15 Esteban Ocon FRA ART Junior
16 Andrea Pizzitola FRA ART Junior
17 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA ART Junior
18 Nicolas Jamin FRA ART Junior
19 Aurelien Panis FRA RC Formula
21 Andres Mendez COL Mark Burdett Racing
22 Raoul Owens GBR Mark Burdett Racing
23 Erik Johansson SWE Keo Racing
24 TBA TBA Keo Racing
25 Juan Branger VEN JD Racing
26 Jakub Dalewski POL JD Racing
28 Philo Armand IDN Fortec Motorsport
29 Shahaan Engineer IND Fortec Motorsport
30 Matt Parry GBR Fortec Motorsport
31 Jack Aitken GBR Fortec Motorsport
32 Corinna Kamper AUT TBA
33 TBA TBA JTR Racing
34 TBA TBA PositiOne
35 Roman Beregech RUS Fortec Competition
36 Ryan Tveter USA Fortec Competition
37 Alfonso Celis MEX Fortec Competition
38 Seb Morris GBR Fortec Competition
39 Fran Rueda ESP AV Formula
40 Victor Sendin FRA AV Formula