Home News Winner Wharton cuts into Ugochukwu’s F4 UAE lead after latter crashes

Winner Wharton cuts into Ugochukwu’s F4 UAE lead after latter crashes

by Ida Wood

Photo: F4 UAE

James Wharton cut Ugo Ugochukwu’s Formula 4 United Arab Emirates lead with victory in the final race at Kuwait Motor Town, as Ugochukwu crashed out.

Wharton led for most of the race, although was overtaken on lap one by R-ace GP’s Jesse Carrasquedo Jr who from fourth on the grid went around the outside of the top three at turn two to briefly hold the lead.

Mumbai Falcons driver Wharton, who started on pole, was back ahead by lap two though and had a big margin to team-mate Tuukka Taponen and MP Motorsport’s Valerio Rinicella who had also got back past Carrasquedo.

Ugochukwu demoted him on the next lap, and then set a spree of fastest laps to close in on Rinicella. Third was gifted to him when Rinicella brielfy ran off-track with a mistake, and then Ugochukwu continued to set fastest laps as he then closed in on the top two.

Wharton had enough of a gap to Taponen to not worry about being passed, but for several laps he weaved all the way down the straight to turn two and that allowed Prema driver Ugochukwu to close in far faster than he otherwise would have.

On the penultimate lap he was right on their tail, and Ugochukwu dived down the inside of Taponen at turn two. But the pair collided, and once they had locked wheels they then ended up both stopped facing the barriers at the exit of the corner.

The danger that posed meant the safety car was summoned, and guaranteed Wharton victory ahead of Rinicella and Zachary David.

Federico Rifai and Arvid Lindblad’s race-long battle for a lowly points position ended up being for fourth and fifth instead, and James Piszcyk just behind finished sixth.

Race results (13 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 James Wharton Mumbai Falcons 26m22.082s
2 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +0.053s
3 Zachary David R-ace GP +0.568s
4 Federico Rifai Xcel Motorsport +1.203s
5 Arvid Lindblad Hitech GP +1.868s
6 James Piszcyk Hitech GP +2.277s
7 Hiyu Yamakoshi Pinnacle VAR +2.531s
8 Dion Gowda Carlin +3.051s
9 Alexander Abkhazava R-ace GP +3.972s
10 Akshay Bohra PHM Racing +4.384s
11 Niko Lacorte Prema +7.006s
12 Noah Lisle Xcel Motorsport +7.347s
13 William Macintyre Hitech GP +7.686s
14 Keanu Al Azhari Yas Heat +8.288s
15 Bianca Bustamante Prema +9.191s
16 Lena Buhler R2Race +10.019s
17 Kanato Le Hitech GP +10.778s
18 Valentin Kluss PHM Racing +11.019s
19 Rishon Rajeev Mumbai Falcons +12.367s
20 Hamda Al Qubaisi Yas Heat +12.633s
21 Flavio Olivieri Cram-Hitech GP +13.941s
22 Alexander Bolduev Xcel Motorsport +14.464s
23 Jakob Bergmeister PHM Racing +15.115s
24 Kai Daryanani Pinnacle VAR +15.561s
25 Emely de Heus MP Motorsport +16.765s
26 Sebastian Murray Cram-Hitech GP +16.955s
27 Victoria Blokhina R2Race +19.334s
28 George Zhuravskiy Xcel Motorsport +20.584s
29 Raphael Narac R-ace GP +22.804s
30 Luciano Morano R-ace GP +23.190s
31 Jack Beeton Pinnacle VAR +23.423s
32 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing +23.804s
33 Matteo Quintarelli Yas Heat +1 lap
34 Tuukka Taponen Mumbai Falcons +2 laps
35 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema +2 laps
36 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +2 laps
37 Noah Stromsted PHM Racing +2 laps
Ret Jesse Carrasquedo Jr R-ace GP
Fastest lap: Ugochukwu, 1m54.497s

Championship standings
1 Ugochukwu 142   2 Wharton 131   3 Rinicella 119   4 Taponen 101   5 Lindblad 70   6 David 55   7 Kluss 50   8 Nael 31   9 Brando Badoer 28   10 Stromsted 28