Home Formula 4Italian F4 Wharton tops Italian F4 post-season test as karters try single-seaters

Wharton tops Italian F4 post-season test as karters try single-seaters

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Ferrari junior James Wharton was fastest in Italian Formula 4’s post-season test at Mugello this week.

Prema driver Wharton topped the two-day test by 0.007 seconds over Van Amersfoort Racing’s Red Bull junior Arvid Lindblad, with US Racing’s Frederik Lund and PHM Racing’s Taylor Barnard also within a tenth of a second of the pace.

There was a revised line-up at most teams compared to their entries for the Italian F4 season finale just days before, with Prema fielding Iron Lynx drivers Niko Lacorte and Ivan Domingues as well as Alpine Academy affiliate and CIK-FIA European Karting champion Kean Nakamura Berta and Brazilian F4 racer Fernando Barrichello, the son of former F1 racer Rubens Barrichello.

Berta was the fastest karting graduate in the test, ending up 14th on the combined timesheet and 0.871s off Wharton’s pace.

The next F4 newcomer was AKM Motorsport’s Cristian Bertuca, who has karted for Birel ART this year, and then junior karter Griffin Peebles at VAR.

Lund started the test on top, setting a 1m50.212s in the opening session, with Prema’s Ugo Ugochukwu lowering the pace to 1m49.003s in the next track outing.

PHM Racing’s Taylor Barnard became the first driver to lap in the 1m48s in session three, then Wharton set the fastest lap of the test – a 1m48.843s in the final session of Monday.

Tuesday’s action began with Akshay Bohra setting the pace, then Lacorte went top in session six of the test. Bohra returned to first place in session seven, and Lund then was the benchmark driver in session eight with a 1m48.874s lap putting him third overall in the test.

Brando Badoer only contested the second day of testing and ended up seventh fastest overall, while Barnard only did day one and was fourth.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 James Wharton Prema 1m48.843s 125
2 Arvid Lindblad VAR 1m48.850s +0.007s 144
3 Frederik Lund US Racing 1m48.874s +0.031s 123
4 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m48.927s +0.084s 51
5 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 1m49.003s +0.160s 133
6 Niko Lacorte Prema 1m49.023s +0.180s 134
7 Brando Badoer VAR 1m49.044s +0.201s 75
8 Ashkay Bohra US Racing 1m49.173s +0.330s 138
9 Ivan Domingues Prema 1m49.253s +0.410s 130
10 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m49.316s +0.473s 134
11 Pedro Clerot VAR 1m49.429s +0.586s 130
12 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi PHM Racing 1m49.480s +0.637s 118
13 Ruiqu Liu US Racing 1m49.661s +0.818s 127
14 Kean Nakamura Berta Prema 1m49.714s +0.871s 136
15 Zachary David US Racing 1m49.736s +0.893s 104
16 Kim Hwarang Jenzer Motorsport 1m49.908s +1.065s 139
17 Cristian Bertuca AKM Motorsport 1m49.928s +1.085s 135
18 Griffin Peebles VAR 1m50.073s +1.230s 144
19 Giovanni Maschio PHM Racing 1m50.166s +1.323s 140
20 James Egozi PHM Racing 1m50.268s +1.425s 133
21 Nathan Schaap Jenzer Motorsport 1m50.295s +1.452s 141
22 Edoardo Borelli AKM Motorsport 1m50.393s +1.550s 127
23 Ismail Akhmed AKM Motorsport 1m50.917s +2.074s 153
24 Matteo Quintarelli R-ace GP 1m51.228s +2.385s 120
25 Raphael Narac R-ace GP 1m51.309s +2.466s 132
26 Tina Hausmann VAR 1m51.475s +2.632s 139
27 Fernando Barrichello Prema 1m51.760s +2.917s 103
28 Alice Buckley Jenzer Motorsport 1m52.844s +4.001s 121