Home News Wharton puts one hand on F4 UAE title with fourth win of season

Wharton puts one hand on F4 UAE title with fourth win of season

by Ida Wood

Photo: F4 UAE

James Wharton heads into the Formula 4 United Arab Emirates title decider with a 20-point lead after winning the penultimate race at Yas Marina Circuit.

As in race one, Wharton immediately swept to the inside line from pole to prevent Mumbai Falcons team-mate and sole title rival Tuukka Taponen from getting past, but Taponen was still able to briefly get alongside exiting turn one.

Behind them Ugo Ugochukwu and Arvid Lindblad fought over third, with Lindblad going off exiting the opening corner (which is Turn 9 of the track as F4 uses the support paddock pitlane and grid) but carrying enough speed to get alongside Ugochukwu into Turn 11.

However they made contact and Ugochukwu went off at the next corner, rejoining as they went under the W Hotel and causing a concertina effect of drivers behind trying not to run into each other. It allowed Sainteloc Racing’s Theophile Nael to get by Lindblad into fourth, but he then ran wide exiting the chicane at the end of the lap and lost several positions and Keanu Al Azhari inherited fourth place.

That corner provided further drama behind as Niko Lacorte drove into Brando Badoer and sent both out of the race, with the safety car being brought out as James Piszcyk also came to a stop at the chicane with a tyre issue.

Before the safety car boards were shown, Pedro Clerot had tried passing Lindblad around the outside of the opening corner on lap two but ran wide and instead fell behind MP Motorsport team-mate Valerio Rinicella. Hamda Al Qubaisi also broke her front wing in the midfield, requiring her to pit.

Racing resumed on lap six and Wharton sprinted away while Nael got into a lap-long battle with Akshay Bohra and Alexander Bolduev over eighth place. After several off-track moments he managed to only lose one place to Bohra, then their battle was paused as the safety car was summoned again.

Kai Daryanani and Alexander Abkhazava collided at Turn 9, Flavio Olivieri spun out, then Lena Buhler and Zachary David collided at Turn 1 and Sebastian Murray spun into them and ended his own race.

The race ran to a shortened distance and finished behind the safety car, with Wharton taking his fourth win of the season.

Race results (10 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 James Wharton Mumbai Falcons 27m48.192s
2 Tuukka Taponen Mumbai Falcons +0.321s
3 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema +0.757s
4 Keanu Al Azhari Yas Heat +1.407s
5 Arvid Lindblad Hitech GP +1.602s
6 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +1.849s
7 Pedro Clerot MP Motorsport +2.068s
8 Akshay Bohra PHM Racing +2.334s
9 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing +2.828s
10 Alexander Bolduev Xcel Motorsport +3.215s
11 William Macintyre Hitech GP +3.502s
12 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr R-ace GP +3.658s
13 Federico Rifai Xcel Motorsport +3.987s
14 Valentin Kluss PHM Racing +4.151s
15 Kanato Le Hitech GP +4.341s
16 Nadhavud Bhirombhakdi PHM Racing +4.802s
17 Lena Buhler R2Race +5.479s
18 Matteo Quintarelli Yas Heat +5.926s
19 Jack Beeton Pinnacle VAR +6.392s
20 Dion Gowda Carlin +7.617s
21 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +9.242s
22 Fernando Barrichello Carlin +10.683s
23 Victoria Blokhina R2Race +10.871s
24 Noah Lisle Xcel Motorsport +11.332s
25 Ismail Akhmed MP Motorsport +11.415s
26 Zachary David R-ace GP +11.595s
27 George Zhuravskiy Xcel Motorsport +11.924s
28 Hamda Al Qubaisi Yas Heat +12.431s
29 Raphael Narac R-ace GP +13.242s
30 Bianca Bustamante Prema +13.450s
31 Muhammad Ibrahim Mumbai Falcons +14.687s
32 Noah Stromsted PHM Racing +15.322s
Ret Alexander Abkhazava R-ace GP
Ret Flavio Olivieri Cram Motorsport
Ret Kai Daryanani Pinnacle VAR
Ret Sebastian Murray Cram Motorsport
Ret Luciano Morano Sainteloc Racing
Ret Niko Lacorte Prema
Ret Brando Badoer Pinnacle VAR
Ret James Piszcyk Hitech GP
Fastest lap: Wharton, 1m57.587s

Championship standings
1 Wharton 232   2 Taponen 212   3 Ugochukwu 160   4 Rinicella 153   5 Lindblad 107   6 David 59   7 Badoer 59   8 Stromsted 53   9 Kluss 50   10 Al Azhari 48