Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Walker dominates opening National FF1600 race at Oulton Park

Walker dominates opening National FF1600 race at Oulton Park

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Kevin Mills Racing

Alex Walker took his sixth BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 victory by dominating race one from pole at Oulton Park.

The Kevin Mills driver finished 3.8 seconds ahead of nearest title rival Max Esterson, while Chris Middlehurst suffered a blow to his title hopes after an incident with B-M Racing’s Rory Smith. 

As Walker pulled away at the front from the outset, Smith fended off Team Dolan’s Middlehurst and Low Dempsey Racing’s Esterson for second.

Middlehurst finally got by, but then spun down the order after contact with Smith at Old Hall Bend and eventually finished 10th. 

Esterson pounced to move into second, with Smith then losing third to KMR’s Tom Mills late on as he tried to fight back. 

B-M’s Jamie Sharp came out on top in a close battle for fifth with Oldfield Motorsport’s Lucas Romanek and Don Hardman Racing’s Joey Foster, and LDR’s Colin Queen and KMR’s Megan Gilkes finished close behind the trio in eighth and ninth.

Team Dolan’s Morgan Quinn was forced to retire in the pits with an issue, while John Svensson and Darwin Smith also failed to see the chequered flag. 

Race results (9 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Alex Walker Kevin Mills Racing 16m18.028s
2 Max Esterson Low Dempsey Racing +3.768s
3 Thomas Mills Kevin Mills Racing +4.185s
4 Rory Smith B-M Racing +4.424s
5 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing +7.999s
6 Lucas Romanek Oldfield motorsport +8.306s
7 Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing +8.632s
8 Colin Queen Low Dempsey Racing +9.586s
9 Megan Gilkes Kevin Mills Racing +9.898s
10 Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan +12.769s
11 Andre Lafond Low Dempsey Racing +13.137s
12 Jack Wolfenden Souley Motorsport +14.477s
13 Ben Cochran Team Dolan +17.662s
14 Carter Williams Oldfield Motorsport +21.285s
15 Doug Crosbie +39.185s
16 Chris Hodgen Souley Motorsport +40.006s
17 Michael Gray Graham Brunton Racing +40.330s
18 Derek Palmer Jr Graham Brunton Racing +43.704s
19 Leanne McShane Souley Motorsport +53.412s
20 Logan Hannah Graham Brunton Racing +1m03.252s
Ret John Svensson John’s Racing Team
Ret Morgan Quinn Team Dolan
Ret Darwin Smith
Fastest lap: Mills, 1m47.487s

Championship standings
1 Walker 376   2 Esterson 368   3 Middlehurst 326   4 Sharp 305   5 Smith 249   6 Mills 214   7 Romanek 196   8 Queen 173   9 Gilkes 150   10 Foster 136