Home Featured Walker cruises to another GB4 win at Oulton Park

Walker cruises to another GB4 win at Oulton Park

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Alex Walker took another lights-to-flag victory in the first of Monday’s two GB4 races at Oulton Park. 

In a repeat of Saturday’s race, Elite Motorsport’s Walker led away from pole while Fortec Motorsports’ Nikolas Taylor made a poor getaway from the outside of the front row. 

Walker built a five-second advantage over the first two laps, as Hillspeed’s Max Marzorati proved a cork in the bottle behind. 

Kevin Mills Racing’s Tom Mills moved up the inside of Marzorati at the start of lap two, with the recovering Taylor leading a train of cars behind. 

Taylor took third from Marzorati into Island bend on lap four. But behind them, Elite’s Jack Sherwood tripped over Fortec’s Elias Edestam into the hairpin, dropping both down the order. 

Walker meanwhile cruised home 5.845 seconds ahead of Mills, who scored his third podium of the season, with Taylor a comfortable third. 

KMR’s Jarrod Waberski passed the squabbling Hillspeed pair of Marzorati and Gilkes in the final few laps to finish fourth, and Gilkes passed her team-mate at the start of the final tour to come home fifth.

Adestam was seventh with his own late pass on Graham Brunton Racing’s Logan Hannah, who had her best finish yet in eighth. Her team-mate George Line was ninth, ahead of Sherwood and Chloe Grant. 

Fortec’s Jessica Edgar stalled on the grid and came home a distant 12th.

Race results (12 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Alex Walker Elite Motorsport 19m27.524s
2 Tom Mills Kevin Mills Racing +5.845s
3 Nikolas Taylor Fortec Motorsports +7.886s
4 Jarrod Waberski Kevin Mills Racing +26.905s
5 Megan Gilkes Hillspeed +27.391s
6 Max Marzorati Hillspeed +28.584s
7 Elias Adestam Fortec Motorsports +30.252s
8 Logan Hannah Graham Brunton Racing +39.625s
9 George Line Graham Brunton Racing +42.439s
10 Jack Sherwood Elite Motorsport +42.606s
11 Chloe Grant Graham Brunton Racing +48.080s
12 Jessica Edgar Fortec Motorsports +1m34.897s
Fastest lap: Walker, 1m35.989s

Championship standings
1 Walker 147   2 Marzorati 108   3 Mills 106   4 Taylor 103   5 Waberski 102   6 Adestam 86   7 Gilkes 76   8 Sherwood 63   9 Edgar 50   10 Grant 45