Home News W Series prize money structure revealed

W Series prize money structure revealed

by Rob Hansford

W Series

W Series bosses have revealed how their 2019 prize money fund will be distributed as well as detailing initial plans for the 2020 season.

The total prize fund for the series this year is US$1.5 million, and the first winner of the all-female series will win US$500,000.

The second placed driver will receive?US$250,000 and?US$125,000 will be given to the driver who finishes third in the championship.

Prize money will be given to every driver on the grid with those finishing in 15th to 18th in the championship, as well as reserve drivers, receiving?US$7500 each.

Bosses have also announced that the top 12 drivers in the championship will automatically receive an entry the series’ second season in 2020 – meaning that the winner of the championship will be able to try and defend their title – while there will also be eight seats potentially available for new drivers.

Any driver finishing outside the top 12 will have to re-apply if they wish to compete in the series again. At this stage there has been no confirmation how the application process for 2020 will work and whether these drivers will need to undergo further assessments.

The championship has also stated that FIA superlicence points will be available next year but at this stage the FIA have not confirmed how many points will be awarded.

Williams development driver Jamie Chadwick currently leads the W Series championship, ahead of?Beitske Visser and?Marta Garcia