Home Featured Voisin seals GB3 title as Xie wins shortened Donington finale

Voisin seals GB3 title as Xie wins shortened Donington finale

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Callum Voisin has clinched the GB3 title in the reversed-grid finale at Donington Park as Gerrard Xie took a maiden win behind the safety car.

Hillspeed’s Xie climbed from third on the grid to lead into Redgate for the first time ahead of reversed-grid polesitter Patrick Heuzenroeder and Edward Pearson. Nico Christodoulou made a great start from 11th and was soon past Pearson into third.

Needing to overhaul a 22-point deficit to steal the crown, Alex Dunne moved from 20th to 14th on the opening lap, while Voisin gained five spots to 17th.

The two title rivals both gained three places on the next lap, with Voisin moving on to the tail of Dunne on lap three by climbing to 12th.

The safety car was then deployed after Tymek Kucharczyk crashed on the exit of Fogarty Esses, with racing resuming on lap nine.

Chistodoulou dived to the inside of Heuzenroeder at the hairpin, putting both cars wide, with Pearson pouncing to snatch second from the pair.

Dunne moved past David Morales and James Hedley into ninth, while Callum Voisin found himself involved in the squabble as well, but backed out at Fogarty and remained in 12th.

The safety car was deployed again after Joseph Loake ran off the road exiting Redgate while running seventh and spun before stopping on track at Hollywood. Racing did not resume with Xie winning behind the safety car from Pearson, Heuzenroeder and Christodoulou.

Elite Motorsport’s Oliver Stewart was fifth ahead of team-mate McKenzy Cresswell and Fortec duo Jarrod Waberski and Max Esterson.

Costa Toparis was another early retiree, while Rodin Carlin team-mate John Bennett went off at Old Hairpin on lap one and finished 18th.

Race result (13 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gerard Xie Hillspeed 25m42.308s
2 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports +0.477s
3 Patrick Heuzenroeder Elite Motorsport +1.214s
4 Nico Christodoulou Arden VRD +1.811s
5 Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport +2.899s
6 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport +3.598s
7 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports +3.921s
8 Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports +4.411s
9 Alex Dunne Hitech +5.333s
10 David Morales JHR Developments +5.835s
11 James Hedley Arden VRD +6.373s
12 Callum Voisin Rodin Carlin +6.968s
13 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +7.407s
14 Arthur Rogeon Chris Dittmann Racing +7.592s
15 Souta Arao Hitech +9.724s
16 Noah Ping Arden VRD +10.867s
17 Michael Shin Hitech +11.100s
18 John Bennett Rodin Carlin +11.651s
19 Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed +12.006s
Ret Joseph Loake JHR Developments
Ret Tymek Kucharczyk Douglas Motorsport
Ret Costa Toparis Rodin Carlin
Fastest lap: Xie, 1m23.729s

Championship standings
1 Voisin 484   2 Dunne 466   3 Loake 417   4 Cresswell 390   5 Rees 370   6 Hedley 347   7 Kucharczyk 296   8 Christodoulou 261   9 Waberski 239   10 Bennett 217