Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Victor Martins tops pre-event Formula Renault Eurocup test at Yas Marina

Victor Martins tops pre-event Formula Renault Eurocup test at Yas Marina

by Ida Wood

Victor Martins topped the times on the Formula Renault Eurocup’s first visit to Yas Marina in a pre-event test for the season finale.

The three-and-a-half hour session featured two new additions to the grid in MP Motorsport’s Matteo Nannini and Global Racing Service’s Matthias Luethen.

Nannini, recently signed to Infinity Sport Management, is the reigning Formula 4 United Arab Emirates champion, while Luethen has raced in the Drexler-Automotive (previously Remus) FRenault Cup this year.

Martins’ 2m08.645s lap was seven tenths of a second faster than R-ace GP title rival Oscar Piastri, with Martins’ own MP Motorsport team-mate Lorenzo Colombo, Caio Collet (R-ace GP) and Kush Maini (M2 Competition) the only drivers to get within a second of the pace.

Temperatures came close to 40?C during the daylight running, and the session was briefly stopped when Arden’s Patrik Pasma stopped on track at Turn 19. His team-mate Sebastian Fernandez was sixth fastest, just ahead of R-ace GP’s Alexander Smolyar and Gregoire Saucy, and JD Motorsport’s Leonardo Lorandi.

Nannini was 11th fastest in a car he’s used to racing in Formula Regional European Championship, while Luethen was seven seconds off the pace behind GRS team-mates Xavier Lloveras and Alessio Deledda.


Test results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 2m08.645s
2 Oscar Piastri R-ace GP +0.703s
3 Lorenzo Colombo MP Motorsport +0.848s
4 Caio Collet R-ace GP +0.895s
5 Kush Maini M2 Competition +0.943s
6 Sebastian Fernandez Arden +1.030s
7 Alexander Smolyar R-ace GP +1.106s
8 Gregoire Saucy R-ace GP +1.162s
9 Leonardo Lorandi JD Motorsport +1.181s
10 Amaury Cordeel MP Motorsport +1.290s
11 Matteo Nannini MP Motorsport +1.355s
12 Frank Bird Arden +1.360s
13 Ugo de Wilde JD Motorsport +1.465s
14 Patrik Pasma Arden +1.525s
15 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +1.785s
16 Federico Malvestiti Bhaitech +1.916s
17 Lucas Alecco Roy M2 Competition +2.263s
17 Xavier Lloveras Global Racing Service +2.408s
18 Alessio Deledda Global Racing Service +3.868s
19 Matthias Luethen Global Racing Service +7.003s