Home News Vaxiviere fights back to claim Spa win after slow start

Vaxiviere fights back to claim Spa win after slow start

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Frederic Le Floch / DPPI

Photo: Frederic Le Floch / DPPI

Lotus WSR’s Matthieu Vaxiviere took his second win of the Formula Renault 3.5 season in the Saturday race at Spa-Francorchamps.

Despite a slow getaway, Vaxiviere recovered to pass Nicholas Latifi for the lead and subsequently eased to victory.

The Canadian had built up a very solid lead after a great start, but saw it evaporate when the safety car came out for Pietro Fantin‘s heavy shunt into the tyre wall.

With thirty minutes to go in the race, Latifi managed the restart well enough and kept Vaxiviere behind through La Source on two occasions.

However, the Frenchman managed a rare overtake around the outside later in the lap and was back into the lead.

The poleman immediately started to check out from the rest of the field and, while points leader Jazeman Jaafar also quickly cleared Latifi, Vaxiviere was already too far up the road to be challenged.

Latifi had a solid shot at reclaiming second, but ended up under pressure from Dean Stoneman instead and eventually led the Red Bull junior through.

Jaafar and Stoneman went on to complete the podium, with Latifi and Oliver Rowland making up the top five.

Tom Dillmann kept Tio Ellinas at bay to claim sixth place, with the Cypriot’s teammate Gustav Malja following in eighth.

Nyck de Vries ended up ninth, with Egor Orudzhev picking up the final point.

Aurelien Panis and Roberto Merhi joined Fantin among the retirements, the former pitting in with an issue early on and the latter calling it a day with four laps to go.

Beitske Visser did not start the race after being excluded from the front row.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Matthieu Vaxiviere Lotus 19 laps in 41:17.060
2 Jazeman Jaafar Fortec Motorsports +5.043
3 Dean Stoneman DAMS +11.808
4 Nicholas Latifi Arden Motorsport +12.414
5 Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsports +14.032
6 Tom Dillmann Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +15.104
7 Tio Ellinas Strakka Racing +15.875
8 Gustav Malja Strakka Racing +17.917
9 Nyck de Vries DAMS +19.224
10 Egor Orudzhev Arden Motorsport +20.940
11 Meindert van Buuren Lotus +25.811
12 Bruno Bonifacio International Draco Racing +31.008
13 Alfonso Celis AVF +32.049
14 Roy Nissany Tech 1 Racing +32.615
15 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +44.304
16 Patric Armand Pons Racing +58.019
Not classified
Roberto Merhi Pons Racing +4 laps
Aurelien Panis Tech 1 Racing +14 laps
Pietro Fantin International Draco Racing +19 laps
DNS Beitske Visser AVF